Pending approval by college presidents, Region XIV Conference is due expansion.

Coaches in the conference have approved the addition of men’s programs at Lamar State College-Port Arthur and Bossier Parish (La.) Community College and have proposed reorganization of the conference into two divisions.

Assuming the action taken at a coaches meeting last week before the 10th Annual Region XIV Conference Media Tip-Off at Trinity Valley Community College is approved by the presidents, it would become effective with the 2008-09 season.

After considering as many as six options, coaches voted to divide the men’s conference into two divisions — East and West. TVCC, Tyler, Paris, Navarro, Lon Morris, Jacksonville and Bossier Parish would compete in the West and Angelina, Blinn, Kilgore, Lee, Panola, San Jacinto and Lamar-Port Arthur in the East.

Schools would be play each team in their division twice and the other division once, representing a 19-game conference schedule. The conference currently plays a 22-game schedule.

With expansion, coaches also approved expanding the postseason tournament from eight to 10 teams, giving the top four teams a bye in the first round. Tournament teams would be determined by overall conference record and not divisional standings.

While the women’s conference wouldn’t be directly affected by expansion in terms of size, it would mean there could be fewer doubleheaders on the schedule, according to TVCC athletic director/head women’s basketball coach Michael Landers.

“We will do everything we can (with the schedule) to have the women and men playing together, but there will be some nights when they’re not playing at same place,” Landers said.

The women’s postseason tournament will expand from six to eight teams.

The 2008 regional tournament is scheduled to be played at Master Gymnasium on the campus of Kilgore College.

Coaches tabled selecting sites for the following three regional tournaments, pending a request by Angelina College that a neutral site be sought, such as Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches or Sam Houston State University in Huntsville.

Recommended for you