Jose “Pepino” Romero and Arturo Alvarado have been named as superlative winners on the recently released All-17-3A soccer team.

Romero, who scored a team-high 18 goals this past season, was named the district’s Offensive Player of the Year. Alvarado, who had seven shutouts, was named Keeper of the Year. Both are juniors and played major roles in leading Head Coach Jonathan Ryal’s Hornets to the bi-district round of the playoffs this season.

Athens also had three first-team players on the all-district team — senior Humberto Castaneda, senior Julio Leon and sophomore Bryant Castaneda.

Sophomore Alfredo Vasquez, junior Eliseo Rodriguez and senior Edwin Rodriguez were named to the second team, while Zabiel Mota and Alex Cleto were honorable mention picks.

Kemp juniors Matt Kinney and Dolton Chambers made the first team, and Mabank also had two first-team picks in seniors Clint Cowan and Martin Ledezma.

17-3A superlative winners

Coach of the Year

Harold Story, John Tyler

Most Valuable Player

Abner Barrera, junior, John Tyler

Offensive MVP

Jose Romero, junior, Athens

Defensive MVP

Jonathan Parker, senior, Whitehouse

Sophomore of the Year

Riley Alvey, Lindale

Newcomer of the Year

Porfirio Benitez, sophomore, John Tyler

Keeper of the Year

Arturo Alvarado, junior, Athens

Recommended for you