Brownsboro athletes

Brownsboro seniors from left, Jamal Bell (Bear award), Tamaria Manning (Letterman award), Wyatt Rinehart (Letterman award) and Kassidy Grace (Academic Athlete of the Year) were presented with the top awards at the Brownsboro Sports Banquet Monday.

The Brownsboro Independent School District Athletic Booster Club honored the top student athletes Monday during it's annual athletic banquet at Rock Hill Baptist Church.

“I want to thank you guys so much for coming and supporting all of our students and our staff,” Brownsboro High School Principal Brandon Jones said. “I want to thank Rock Hill for hosting us. It is always a great event and we appreciate that.”

Kassidy Grace was named the the Academic Athlete of the Year.

Wyatt Rinehart, Lindsey Edwards and Tamaria Manning were named Lettermen of the Year. The Bearette award went to Edwards and the Bear award went to Jamal Bell.

“The Bear award is given to a model student and a great mentor for other students on our campus,” Jones said.

Athletes were presented with team awards in 12 sports by their head coaches.

The football coaches recognized five athletes as  Jake Conner won the best offensive player award.

Saul Williams was the best defensive player. Stephen Whittle won the lineman award. The coaches award was given to Carson Booth and Austin Loosier. The Most Valuable Player was Bell.

In volleyball, coach Lauren Spradlin handed out six awards as Mallory McCallie was presented with the Hustle award.

Chelsea Foster was given the Most Improved award, Maci Felts received the coaches award, Hope Williams was the Defensive MVP. Kallie Hastings was named Offensive MVP and the team MVP was Edwards.

In cross country, coach Ashley Endsley presented three awards as Nathan Morris was named the boys MVP, while Laura Escamilla was named the girls MVP and the Newcomer of the Year.

In girls basketball, coach Fred Griffin presented six awards as Edwards was named the best rebounder and Aleiah Williams was named the Defensive Player of the Year. Manning was named as the player with the best free throw percentage, the team MVP and was given the award as the assists leader.

The Most Improved Player went to McKenzie Smith.

In boys basketball, coach Brent Smith handed out seven awards as Woods was named the MVP and the top rebounder.  Bell was given the award for the most assists and Conner was named as best free-throw percentage.

The Most Improved went to Wyatt Rinehart and Ashton Williams was named  Newcomer of the Year. The coaches award went to Bryan Sanders.

In powerlifting, the Most Outstanding Lifters are Emerald Benavidez and Bryce Stephens.

In golf, coach Jim Haynie gave out three awards as Joey Boyd was named the boys MVP, while Kassidy Grace was named the girls MVP. The Newcomer of the Year was Sarah McBride.

In tennis, Smith presented six student athletes with awards as Jesus Cleto-Alonzo was named the boys Most Valuable Player.

Kelsey and Gelsey Romero were named as the Co-Girls MVP, while the Bear Pride award went to Amy Munoz.

McKayla Davenport and Brock Meier were named Co-Newcomer of the Year.

In girls track, Griffin presented four awards as Edwards was named the Most Valuable Player for the field events.

Edwards was named the overall MVP, Marisol Suarez was named the Most Valuable Player for the running events. Escamilla was named Most Improved.

In boys track, Clayton Orr  was named the Most Valuable Player for the field events and the Newcomer of the Year is Williams. The running events Most Valuable Player was given to Morris. The team Most Valuable Player was given to Bell.

In softball, Endsley handed out five awards.

The Sportsmanship award was given to Cassie Blevins and the Most Improved award was given to Chelsea Foster.

The Defensive MVP was given to McCallie, while the Offensive Most Valuable Player was Morgyn Fulgham. The coaches award was presented to Becca McGough.

In baseball, coach Josh Turner wrapped up the  team portion of the banquet with six awards.

The Fighting Heart award was given to Payden Green, the Co-Most Valuable Players were Conner and Austin Fout. Bell was presented with the coaches award. The Defensive Player of the Year was given to Christian Reeves and Rinehart is the Offensive MVP for the team.

Recommended for you