Thursday would have been the deadline for candidates to file for the 2012 Democratic and Republican Primaries, but as of Wednesday,  party officials were anticipating the window to be extended through Monday.

Henderson County Democratic Party Chair Marsha Head said she had spoken with the legal department in the Texas Secretary of State’s Office, and had been informed that the extension was probably going to happen.

On Wednesday afternoon, Head was awaiting a written order from the Federal District Court confirming the change.

Head said she had a couple of potential candidates who needed to know what the cutoff date would be.

“I would tell anyone who’s thinking about running to check in with us,” Head said.

The filing dates have been uncertain since a 3-judge panel in Federal District Court in San Antonio issued a ruling that candidates for county, state and federal office delayed the beginning of filing from Nov. 12 to Nov. 28. The panel left the filing deadline at Dec. 15, however.

Republican Chair Betty Holland could not be reached, Wednesday afternoon.

According to Henderson County Republican Party officials, this is the latest list of filings.

• Commissioner Precinct 1

Ken Hayes

O.B. Skip Smith

Scotty Thomas

Ron Welch

• Commissioner Precinct 3

Ronny Lawrence

Billy Van Voast

• Constable Precinct 2

Rodney Henderson

Norman L. Terry

• Constable Precinct 3

Rick Carver

David Grubbs

James Lehman

• Constable Precinct 4

Richard Stewart

• Constable Precinct 5

Eric Lee Adair

Brad Miers

• County Attorney

Clint Davis

• District Attorney

Scott McKee

• County Sheriff

Ray Nutt

• County Tax Assessor

Milburn Chaney

Anita Smith

• 392nd Judicial District Court Judge

Carter Tarrance


Democratic filings to date include:

• County Sheriff

Bill Burton

• Commissioner Precinct 1

David McGlaun

• Constable Precinct 1

Darrell Graham

• Constable Precinct 5

Rick Simmons

• County Chair

Marsha Head

Recommended for you