AUSTIN — Governor Rick Perry has proclaimed January 2007 as School Board Recognition Month. Districts across the state will use this opportunity to show their appreciation and bolster understanding of the critical role elected boards of education play in their local schools and communities.

“Education fosters success. From grade school to university, a solid education establishes the foundation on which we build futures of achievement and advancement, futures that give fruition to the fulfillment of dreams and expectations.

“Members of school boards, men and women who share a commitment to serve their communities, dedicate themselves to ensuring that students in the Lone Star State are given every opportunity to excel through education.

In collaboration with others, including educators, governmental officials and the citizens of the districts they serve, school boards are essential members of the education community.

“Throughout the month of January, an awareness campaign will be conducted to highlight the important role of school boards throughout the Lone Star State. At this time, therefore, I encourage all Texans to recognize the vital contributions of school boards and the enduring legacy they continue to mold in furthering the best for the Texas of tomorrow,” Perry said.

TASB Executive Director James B. Crow said, “Locally elected trustees are tireless advocates for our children, and we hope every community will set aside time in January to express thanks for their dedicated service. School boards work with parents, administrators, education professionals and other local citizens to establish goals for the education program. They set standards, ensure schools are accountable to the community and strive for continuous improvement in student learning. That job entails a string of meetings and school functions to attend; reams of reports, agendas, proposals and other information to read and study; and a host of complex decisions to make.

“More than 7,000 men and women serve without pay on local school boards. While many districts face difficult challenges, these local trustees stand absolutely firm in a commitment to the success of all students.

“Shouldering serious responsibilities, they freely give of themselves, their knowledge vision, leadership and time. We urge all Texans to acknowledge their dedicated work for the good of every child in an increasingly complex world,” Crow said.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local school districts. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 4.4 million public school students.

Henderson County School Boards

Athens ISD

David Freeman - President

Eric Smith - V.P.

Bob Spears - Secretary

Jennie Mahmoud

Robert Risko

Ginger Kirk

Peggie Rhodes

Eustace ISD

Mike Smith - President

Thomas Frazier - V.P.

Diane Russ - Secretary

James Cox

Gary Walsh

Sara Z. McAtee

Billy “Cotton” Walker

Murchison ISD

Shiree Head - President

Beverly Sefton - V.P.

Nelda Tillison - Secretary

Gerald Wood

Rusty Abney

Sheryl Sims

Mike Davis

Cross Roads ISD

Scott Huddleston - President

Darren Himes - V.P.

Pam Underhill - Secretary

Larry Scoggin

Tracy Miller

Gayle Harmon

Mark Davis

Brownsboro ISD

Joel Irwin - President

Bobby Teague - V.P.

Dusty Wise - Secretary

Charles Anderson

Becky Grantham

John Hartsfield

Joey Ridgle

Malakoff ISD

Clyde L. Tinsley - President

Todd LaRue - V.P.

David Hennesee - Secretary

Homer Ray Trimble

Jim Farrell

Gary Wolverton

Rick Vieregge

Mabank ISD

Gary Sapp - President

Kenneth Odom - V.P.

Cindy Holstein - Secretary

Mike Cathey

Darrell Kinnard

Scott Tuley

Dean Fannin

LaPoynor ISD

Keith Bristow - President

Richard “Bubba” Holcomb - V.P.

Mike Mann - Secretary

Bryan Forester

Robert Baron

Steve Handley

Kyle Riley

Trinidad ISD

Ricky Burton - President

Bill Tart

Billy Ray Hornbuckle

Eric Airheart

Mike Airheart

Tanya Norris

Recommended for you