The Henderson County Peace Officers Association named Department of Public Safety Trooper Jason Rolison as its “Officer of the Year” at the association’s annual awards banquet Thursday.

DPS Sgt. Hank Sibley presented the award to Rolison, an eight-year veteran chosen from among the 2006 Peace Officer of the Month honorees.

Rolison was unavailable for comment Tuesday.

Sibley said Rolison is an “outstanding professional who takes care of business. He’s been an outstanding trooper. You couldn’t ask for anyone better to supervise.”

Rolison serves on the District 6-C crash reconstruction team, which investigates auto wrecks. Each of the 14 teams in Texas measure things such as speed and other possible contributing factors to help determine the cause of a crash. Rolison also teaches crash reconstruction at the DPS Academy.

Sibley said Rolison has recently been selected to serve on the elite six-member state reconstruction unit.

“It’s a big deal to be selected, when you consider there are 3,000 commissioned officers at DPS,” Sibley said.

Rolison is the son of Benny Rolison, who retired after a long career with DPS.

The trooper’s brother, Benjamin, is an Athens policeman and is expected to attend the next DPS academy. Rolison and his wife, Jade, have one son, Cooper.

HCPOA past president Tony Duncan said the group also presented Henderson County Attorney James Owen with a certificate of appreciation for his contributions given in honor of the Peace Officers of the Month and Rolison.

Frank and Nancy Akeroyd were recognized for presenting the HCPOA with police collectibles valued at about $2,800 to use as a fund-raiser.

New HCPOA officers were sworn in by Pct. 6 Justice of the Peace Milton Adams. The president-elect for 2007 is Henderson County Sheriff’s Department Deputy Billy Jack Valentine. Other new officers are Trooper Brent Davis, vice president; HCSD Investigator Kevin Haynes, treasurer; and Pct. 3 Constable David Grubbs, secretary.



Recommended for you