Henderson County is under a burn ban following a vote of the Commissioners Court at a special meeting Friday.
The ban is for 18 days which will last until the first regularly scheduled Commissioners meeting in July. As of Friday, 218 of Texas’ 254 counties had a ban in place.
The order restricting outdoor burning, issued by County Fire Marshal Darrel Furrh prohibits outdoor burning with these exceptions:
• firefighter training;
• public utility, Texas Department of Public Safety, natural gas pipeline or mining operations;
• planting or harvesting of agricultural crops or;
• burns that are prescribed by a licensed burn manager
Violations of the ban are punishable by a fine, not to exceed $500.
The Texas Forest Service announced Thursday that the state has been experiencing record dry conditions. Wildland Urban Interface Specialist Patrick Allen said wildfires are a community-wide problem, which means reducing risks to homes and property is everyone’s responsibility.
“More than 80 percent of wildfires in Texas occur within 2 miles of a community,” Allen said. “This year has been an eye-opening experience for many Texas residents and we are not out of the woods yet.”