The filing deadline for May 9 municipal and school board elections comes at the end of the business day on Friday and contested races are shaping up in several locations.

In the City of Athens election, Mayor Jerry Don Vaught and  Place 1 Councilman Monte Montgomery filed early and are still the only candidates.

Vaught was appointed mayor in November 2012 after Randy Daniel resigned to become Henderson County Justice of the Peace Precinct 1. The council then chose Montgomery to serve the remainder of Vaught’s term. Neither drew an opponent when they filed for a full term in 2013.

The City of Chandler has a contested mayors race, which as of Thursday, did not include the incumbent, Mayor Ann Hall.

The candidates as of Thursday were Libby Fulgham and Gene Giger.

The council seats held by Marshall Crawford and Barbara Reeves are up this year. They've filed, along with Terrie Eagon and Kari Bersano.

Eustace's incumbent mayor, Elicia D. Sanders had drawn an opponent – Randy Johnson.

The two council seats had drawn two filings by Thursday, Tim Howard and Daniel J. Smith.

Brownsboro's municipal election, so far, has filings from only the incumbents. Terry Mills is running for mayor while Len Vest and Josh Fulgham are seeking the two council seats.

The Mabank municipal election has a contest between Jeff Norman and Charles McNew for mayor. The council race has Larry Teague, Midge Odom and John Sullivan seeking the two seats.

The Malakoff city election features a mayoral race and two council seats. The incumbent mayor is Delois Pagitt. Mayor Pro-tem Tim Trimble is one of the council members whose term is up. The other is longtime councilwoman Jeanette King.

Tool Mayor Tamra Brickey’s term ends in May. There are also two council seats available, currently held by Nathan Reeder and Donny Daniel.

The Athens Independent School District will elect trustees from Places 3 and 4 in May. Rob Risko has filed for election in Place 3. No one has filed for the Place 4 seat held by Ginger Kirk.

In the Mabank Independent School District, terms are ending for Place 6 Trustee Kenneth Odom and Place 7 Trustee Gary Sapp. The incumbents were the only candidates filed through Thursday.

The Athens Daily Review will have a revised list of filings after the deadline passes on Friday.

Recommended for you