Athens Review, Athens, Texas

March 8, 2013

HIGH SCHOOL BASKETBALL: Seven LaPoynor Flyers named to District 17-A all-district team

From Staff Reports
The Athens Review

LARUE — Seven LaPoynor Flyers were recently named to the District 17-1A all-district basketball team.

After a season in which coach Dean Nuckoll’s Flyers’ went 26-6 overall and won the district title, LaPoynor won three of the seven superlative spots.

Deon Johnson was named Most Valuable Player, Logan McLelland was named co-Defensive Player of the Year and freshman James Jackson was named Newcomer of the Year. Big Sandy senior Isaiah Johnson was named co-Offensive Most Valuable Player with Martin’s Mill freshman Davis Moore.

McLelland shared his honor with Big Sandy senior Joshua Jackson, while Martin’s Mill freshman July Latimer was named Freshman of the Year.

Juniors Mason Motal and Octavius Crear were named first-team selections for the Flyers, while senior Ashton Abendroth was named to the first-team.

LaPoynor teammate Wade Lang was named to the second-team.

The Flyers finished the season ranked No. 11 in the state and lost in the regional quarterfinals to the Kerens Bobcats.