Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News


November 22, 2013

HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL: Athens picks up four 15-3A superlatives

Anthony Sanders, Logan Fuller, K.J. Cumby, Travon Fuller named players of the year

Athens — The Athens Hornets had nine first-team selections — including three players picked unanimously and four superlative winners — on the recently released 15-3A all-district football team.

Senior linebacker K.J. Cumby and sophomore special teams returner Travon Fuller, along with junior defensive tackle Tyler Trussell, were unanimous picks for the Hornets (10-1), who put together the first undefeated season in school history.

Cumby and Fuller were also superlative winners. Cumby was the Defensive Player of the Year, while Fuller was the Special Teams Player of the Year.

The Hornets also had junior running back Devin Hall, senior tight end Nick Fincher, junior guard Barrett Senyckyj, senior Juan Guzman, junior defensive tackle Manuel Lugo, senior linebacker Adam Stallings, senior linebacker Chris Jefferson, junior cornerback Nikell Roberts and junior safety Garrett Lawyer selected to the first team.

Senior Anthony Sanders was named the Most Valuable Player, sophomore Logan Fuller was named Offensive Player of the Year and head coach Paul Essary was named Coach of the Year.

Second-team picks included junior tight end Logan Allen; senior offensive guard John Arellano; senior offensive tackle Jared Bailey; junior defensive end Chris Prox and junior outside linebacker Timothy Tanner

Junior running back Ladarius Jordan, junior center Raul Campa, junior kicker David Cedillo and junior safety Billy Ruth were named honorable mention.

The Brownsboro Bears — who finished 2-8 under first-year coach Jason Hooker — had two first-team players — sophomore tight end Caleb Seale and junior Will Bailey. Bailey was named first team wide receiver, safety and punter.

Four more Bears were second-team picks — senior wide receiver Deandre Cook; senior offensive tackle Jacob Wages; senior defensive tackle Quentin McKenzie and junior inside linebacker Braylon Wehrman.

Five Bears were honorable mention: quarterback Jared Bragdon; center Josh Seale; tackle Justin Sellers; cornerback Tanner Wilson and linebacker Tristan Moore.

The Mabank Panthers, who finished 2-8 overall and a game out of the playoffs — had one first-team selection in senior defensie tackle Marcos Garza. Senior running back Dylan Schneider, junior wide receiver Dalton Reeder, senior kicker Pedro Valdez, sophomore defensive end Ty Winkelvoss, junior outside linebacker Stephen Tucker and junior safety Colt Conway were second-team picks.

Honorable mention selections went to: Luke Winkelvoss, Zane Koskelin, Andrew Parry, Garrett Holcomb, Joe Vinson, Josh Demayo and Clay Gaddis.    

Mineola freshman quarterback Jeremiah Crawford was a unanimous selection for Offensive Newcomer of the Year, while Van’s junior defensive end Brice Borgeson was the Defensive Newcomer of the Year.

Text Only