Athens Review, Athens, Texas

February 22, 2013


Mabank’s Holyfield unanimous MVP in District 15-3A this season

From Staff Reports
The Athens Review

Athens — Mabank Lady Panthers’ senior Kourtney Holyfield added to her list of honors as the unanimous Most Valuable Player earlier this week on the District 15-3A All-District team.

The 5-6 senior finished the regular season with 18.9 points per game, 3.8  rebounds per game, 2.4 assists per game and 2.8 steals per game.

She was one of eight Lady Panthers players named to the list after an 18-15 season and a runner-up spot in district play.

Mabank teammate Bailey Swain was named the Co-Defensive MVP along with Mineola’s Ali Galaz and Canton junior Kassidy Wilkerson.

Swain finished her sophomore season with 3.4 points per game, 3.0 rebounds per game, 0.5 assists per game and 0.6 steals per game.

It was her first year to play basketball in high school according to coach Ashleigh Weeaks.

Mabank’s Meagan Holyfield was named a unanimous first team all-district player after averaging 6.2 points per game, one assists per game, 2.3 rebounds per game and 1.6 steals per game.

Kaitlyn Holyfield was also named to the second team all-district team after finishing with 3.9 points per game, 0.5 assists, 3.5 rebounds and 0.4 steals per game.

Athens’ senior Demi Cumby was named the Offensive Most Valuable Player after a season in which she averaged 23.5 points per game, 3.2 assists, 3.1 rebounds, 2.8 steals and 0.5 blocks.

The Lady Hornets’ finished the season 9-21 overall and 2-8 in district play.

Athens had one second team selection in junior Josee McNeece and an honorable mention selection in junior post Cari Aguilera.

Below is the list of the 2012-13 All-District team and academic all-district selections for Mabank.



DISTRICT MVP — *Kourtney Holyfield, Sr., Mabank

OFFENSIVE MVP — *Demi Cumby, Sr., Athens

Defensive MVP — Ali Galaz, Sr., Mineola; Kassidy Wilkerson, Jr., Canton; Bailey Swain, Soph., Mabank

Newcomer of the Year — Kelsey Green, Fr., Mineola

Coach of the Year — Clayton Harris, Mineola


*Sydney Hightower, Jr., Brownsboro; *Hallee Carter, Soph., Van; Josee McNeece, Jr., Athens; *Meagan Holyfield, Soph., Mabank; *Emery Elliott, Jr., Canton; Jordon Dawson, Soph., Mineola; Peyton Stephens, Soph., Mineola.

*Unanimous Selection


Marisa Ledkins, Sr. Mineola; Bri Thompson, Soph., Van; Holly Raitz, Fresh., Canton; Kaitlyn Holyfield, Sr., Mabank; Victoria Smith, Sr., Canton; Madison Montgomery, Fresh., Brownsboro


ATHENS — Cari Aguilera, Jr., Athens

MABANK — Hazel Puempel, Madison Holyfield, Morgen Gaona, Krista Stralow


MABANK — Kourtney Holyfield, Kaitlyn Holyfield, Morgen Gaona, Madison Holyfield, Meagan Holyfield, Krista Stralow, Hazel Puempel, Kaylee Creagh.