Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News


May 21, 2013

HIGH SCHOOL BASEBALL: Takata named District 15-3A Player of the Year

ATHENS — With the 2013 season officially in the books, the Athens Hornets had nine players named to the District 15-3A baseball team released on Monday.

The top award went to sophomore infielder Travis Takata as he was named Most Valuable Player.

Athens pitchers Garrett Conley and Morgan Gimler, third baseman Adam Stallings and designated hitter Kaleb Sifers received first team honors.

Athens first baseman Lance Funkhouser, outfielder Jesse Taylor and catcher Gabe Gross were named to the second team.

AHS outfielders Daniel Mossberger and Josh Darden were named to the honorable mention team.

In his first year at the helm, Athens coach Dallas Robertson was named Coach of the Year as the Hornets finished 7-3 in district and the district champions.

For Mabank, they received two superlative honors in Pitcher of the Year Stephen Caillet and Newcomer of the Year in Cody Thompson.

Garrett Holcomb and Colt Conway were named to the first team for the Panthers.

Brownsboro had one first team selection in pitcher Raul Gutierrez.

BHS teammates Ryan Covington and Miles Spencer were named to the second team.

 District 15-3A baseball

District MVP

Travis Takata, Soph., Athens

Offensive MVP

Matt Savis, Soph., Van

Defensive MVP

Ryan Browning, Sr., Mineola

Pitcher of the Year

Stephen Caillet, Sr., Mabank

Newcomer of the Year

Cody Thompson, Soph., Mabank

Coach of the Year

Dallas Robertson, Athens

First Team

Pitchers — Christian Harris, Van; Garrett Conley, Athens; Morgan Gimler, Athens; Raul Gutierrez, Brownsboro.

Infielders — Adam Stallings, Athens; Garrett Holcomb, Mabank; Seth Bickerstaff, Mineola; Garrett Woods, Mineola; Reid Hiler, Van.

Outfielders — Cade Wager, Canton; Colt Conway, Mabank; Logan Fowler, Mineola; Mason Hassell, Van.

Catcher — Chandler Eiland, Canton.

Utility — Grady Priest, Canton; Jacob Wyrick, Van.

Designated Hitter — Kaleb Sifers, Athens.

Second Team

Pitchers — Garrett Walker, Van; Ryan Covington, Brownsboro.

Infielders — Nick Hobbs, Canton; Chris Worley, Canton; Ty Winklevoss, Mabank; Christian Cole, Van; Lance Funkhouser, Athens.

Outfielders — Miles Spencer, Brownsboro; Gage Denton, Canton; Jacob Tobias, Van; Jesse Taylor, Athens.

Catcher — John Velez, Mabank; Gabe Gross, Athens.

Utility — Kaleb Mandeville, Mabank.

Designated Hitter — Luke Winklevoss, Mabank.

Honorable Mentions

Athens — Daniel Mossberger, Josh Darden.

Brownsboro — Aaron Sherman, Aaron Ramirez, Chris Davis, Cory Dodds, Blake Ralson.

Canton — Garrett Denbow, Kolten Landes.

Mabank — Corey Dyer, Cody Kuykendall, Peyton Lee.

Mineola — Lucas Flournoy, Lance Seeton, Tino Elias.

Van — Mason Neal.

Text Only
NCAA Men's Basketball
AP Video
Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase
Twitter Updates