Athens Review, Athens, Texas

June 21, 2013

BRETT HOFFMAN: Trinity Valley cowboys finish 31st at College National Finals Rodeo

The Athens Review

CASPER, Wyo. — Trinity Valley Community College cowboys Lightning Aguilera and Thunder Miller finished 31st in the national team roping title race after competing in the College National Finals Rodeo.

The duo got off to a great start by finishing sixth in the first round of team roping after turning in a time of 7.0 seconds. But during the second and third rounds, they turned in no times.

The June 9-15 College National Finals celebrated its 65th year. It has been in conducted in Casper for 15 years.

Like the NBA playoffs, all CNFR qualifiers started on an even playing field. Each contestant competed in three preliminary rounds in each single event. The prelims began June 9 and concluded June 14.

After that, the top 12, which is based on a three-ride aggregate score, advanced to the June 15 final round. At that point, the rider who finished with the best four-ride score or time won the national title. Team titles and all-around championships, which is based on a point system, also were on the line during the June 15 short round.

Top finishers

Two Texas competitors finished with No. 1 rankings at the College National Finals.  

Billy Bob Brown of Tarleton State won the team roping heading and men’s all-around championships. He also helped TSU finish third in the men’s team title race.

Hill College’s Timothy Bingham clinched the bull riding title. He also helped his school finish fifth in the men’s team standings.

Brown, who also won the third round of tie-down roping, clinched the men’s all-around title with 370 points, 150 more than second place finisher Joe Frost of Oklahoma Panhandle State.

However, Frost helped Panhandle State lasso the men’s team title with 820 points. The College of Southern Idaho, finished No. 2 with 745 and third place Tarleton State earned 735.

Brown clinched the NIRA team roping title after he and Logan Medlin of Eastern New Mexico turned a final round winning time of 5.7 seconds and finished with a four-run aggregate time of 25.3. Derek Weinreis and Levi O’Keeffe of Eastern Wyoming College finished runner-up with a 26.2.

Cadee Tew of Tarleton State and Michael Trujillo of Eastern New Mexico finished third team roping race with a 36.8. Tew also finished third in the women’s all-around standings (with 195 points) behind winner Hayden Segelke of Northeastern Junior College (465). Tew also helped Tarleton finish third in the women’s team title race with 435 points behind No. 1. Idaho State (520) and No. 2 Northeastern Junior College (490).

Bingham won the bull riding title with a three-ride score of 242, seven points higher than runner-up Trent Jacobson of the College of Southern Idaho. He qualified for the final round in fourth place. But after turning in a 79 on his last ride, he moved up to No. l.

Other champions

Spencer Wright of the College of Southern Idaho snared the saddle bronc riding title. He’s the younger brother of Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association world champions Cody and Jesse Wright.

Other 2013 champions were Orin Larsen, College of Southern Idaho, bareback riding; Zac Wilson, West Alabama, tie-down roping; Kimberlyn Fehringer, Idaho State, break-away roping; Corey Rogers, UNLV, steer wrestling; Jordan Thurston-Miller, Gillette College, goat tying; Timmi Ward, College of Southern Idaho, barrel racing; Casey Meroshnekoff, West Hills College, men’s rookie; and Kimberlyn Fehringer, Idaho State University, women’s rookie.

Brett Hoffman, a Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame member, has written a rodeo column for the Fort Worth Star-Telegram over the past quarter century. Email him at