Athens Review, Athens, Texas


March 1, 2013

HIGH SCHOOL BASKETBALL: AHS’ Sanders named District 15-3A MVP

Athens — After a season in which the Athen’s Hornets’ made it to the bi-district round of the Class 3A state playoffs, nine players were selected on the All-District team released on Thursday.

The District MVP went to Athens’ junior Anthony Sanders.

Sanders received the honor following a season in which the Hornets went 6-4 in district as the No. 3-seed.

Mabank’s David Marler was named the Offensive Player of the Year, while Brownsboro senior Patrick McCarthy was named Defensive Player of the Year.

The Coach of the Year was given to Brownsboro head coach Tobin Reid.

Athens had three players make the first-team in Chris Jefferson, Courtland Lyons and Ryan Jefferson.

Antwon Chilton and Kynden Crist received second team honors, while Jessie Durham, Josh Garrett and Trayvon Fuller were named honorable mention.

Brownsboro had three players on the first team as Blake Ralson, Davonte Givens and Will Bailey made the list.

On the second team were Jared Bragdon and Taylor Beall, while Quinten McKenzie and Tamrick Pace were named honorable mention.

Mabank had two players on the first team in Landon Marshall and Parker Johannesen.

Garrett Graham, Taylor Willeford and Zach Dillon were named second teamers while Dalton Burleson was named honorable mention.

District 15-3A

MVP — Anthony Sanders, Athens, Junior.

Offensive MVP — David Marler, Mabank, Senior

Defensive MVP — Patrick McCarthy, Brownsboro, Senior

Newcomer of the Year — Reese Frosch, Canton, Junior

Coach of the Year — Tobin Reid, Brownsboro

First Team

Chris Jefferson, Ryan Jefferson and Courtland Lyons, Athens; Blake Ralson, Davonte Givens and Will Bailey, Brownsboro; Landon Marshall and Parker Johannesen, Mabank; Kelby Nixon, Canton; Casey Stubblefield and Garrett McCalla, Mineola; Carson Rucker, Van.

Second Team

Antwon Chilton, Kynden Crist, Athens; Jared Bragdon and Taylor Beall, Brownsboro; Garrett Graham, Taylor Willeford and Zach Dillon, Mabank; Layton Myers, Van; Brad Wiggins, Jared Grace, Ryan Anderson, Canton.

Honorable Mention

Jessie Durham, Josh Garrett, Trayvon Fuller; Athens. Quinten McKenzie and Tamrick Pace; Brownsboro. Dalton Burleson, Mabank.

Text Only