Athens Review, Athens, Texas

November 13, 2013

DISTRICT 15-3A ALL-DISTRICT: 15-3A honors standout players

Athens places six on all-district team, Mabank places nine on team

From Staff Reports
The Athens Review

Athens — The Mabank Lady Panthers and Brownsboro Bearettes had superlative selections on the recently released District 15-3A all-district volleyball team.

The Lady Panthers had nine selections on the all-district team, Athens placed six on the team, while Brownsboro  had six selections.

Mabank senior Mikayla Adams was named the Co-Most Valuable hitter, while sophomore teammate Payton Costlow was named the Most Valuable Blocker.

Brownsboro freshman Amber Walker was named the Newcomer of the Year following a season in which she had 44 kills and 21 blocks.

Van junior BriAnn Thompson was named the district’s MVP, and three of her teammates earned superlative honors. Van’s Kristen Reaves was named coach of the year after leading her team to the district championship and the area around of the playoffs.

Athens had one player on the first team — senior middle blocker Cari Aguilera. Brownsboro placed LaDae Luqman (senior) on the first team, while Mabank had Bailey Swain (junior) and Brii Young (junior) on the first unit.

Athens had four honorable mention selections in seniors Elizabeth Hilliard and Krystal Davis and juniors Sarah Red and Hadley Cain.

Brownsboro’s Madison Montgomery, Bailey McDonald and Brittany Knippers were honorable mention selections.

For Mabank, seniors Kelci Hill, Amanda Spurger and Brooke Heizer were named honorable mention.

Mabank led the district in academic all-district selections, with 12. Athens had 11 on the academic all-district team.


MOST VALUABLE PLAYER — BriAnn Thompson, Jr., Van

Most Valuable Setter — Morgan Wilkerson, Sr., Van

CO-MOST VALUABLE HITTER — Hallee Carter, Jr., Van; Mikayla Adams, Sr., Mabank

CO-MOST VALUABLE DEFENSIVE SPECIALIST — Ashlin Lovett, Sr., Van; Brooke Erickson, Sr., Canton

MOST VALUABLE BLOCKER —  Payton Costlow, Soph., Mabank

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR — Amber Walker, Fresh., Brownsboro

COACH OF THE YEAR — Kristen Reaves, Van


Cari Aguilera, Sr., Athens

LaDae Luqman, Sr., Brownsboro

Madi Allen, Sr., Canton

Breant Neaff, Sr., Canton

Bailey Swain, Jr., Mabank

Meagan Holyfield, Jr., Mabank

Lauren Almuete, Fresh., Mineola

Rebekah Rogers, Sr., Van

Carissa Luther, Sr., Van


Hannah Feinsod, Sr., Athens

Lexie Houston, Soph., Brownsboro

Lauren Gomez, Soph., Canton

Bri Rhines, Jr., Canton

Madison Holyfield, Jr., Mabank

Brii Young, Jr., Mabank

Kayla Brewington, Jr., Mineola

Jade Sister Green, Jr., Mineola

Jasiee Harris, Jr., Van



Elizabeth Hilliard, Sr., Athens

Krystal Davis, Sr., Athens

Sarah Red, Jr., Athens

Hadley Cain, Jr., Athens

Madison Montgomery, Soph., Brownsboro

Bailey McDonald, Sr., Brownsboro

Brittany Knippers, Jr., Brownsboro

Payton Williams, Soph., Canton

Jaycie Smith, Sr., Canton

Jenna Stanley, Soph., Canton

Lilly Nelson, Soph., Canton

Kelci Hill, Sr., Mabank

Amanda Spurger, Sr., Mabank

Brooke Heizer, Sr., Mabank

Monica Shaffer, Sr., Mineola

Jorie Sauer, Sr., Mineola

Lesley King, Sr., Van

Kenna  Bosley, Sr., Van

M’Kenna Daniel, Fr., Van



ATHENS -- Haley Durden; Cori Earnest; Mallary Rummel; Elizabeth Hilliard; Alexandria Gatlin; Bri Grogan; Sarah Red; Cari Aguilera; Krystal Davis; Hannah Feinsod; Hadley Cain.

BROWNSBORO -- Meagan Gailey; Bailey McDonald; Madi Montgomery; Lexie Houston; Reagan Allen; Leanna Walker.

MABANK -- Mikayla Adams; Kayla Childers; Payton Costlow; Rachel French; Brooke Heizer; Kelci Hill; Madison Holyfield; Meagan Holyfield; Kassie Lander; Amanda Spurger; Bailey Swain; Brii Young.