Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News


March 5, 2014

15-3A ALL-DISTRICT: Top of the class (w/district team)

BHS Bearettes Manning, Hightower receive superlative honors

Athens — After an area round finish to the 2013-14 basketball season, the Brownsboro Bearettes picked up seven nominations on the 15-3A All-District team released this month.

Senior post Sidney Hightower was named Co-Defensive Player of the Year, while Tamaria Manning was named Newcomer of the Year by the district coaches.

Hightower shared the honor with Mineola junior Jordan Dawson.

Head coach Fred Griffin was named Co-Coach of the Year with Dana Irvin from Canton High School.

Griffin led the Bearettes to the District 15-3A championship this season.

The district Most Valuable Player was Canton senior Kassidy Wilkerson, while Canton sophomore Holly Raitz was named the Offensive Player of the Year.

Brownsboro junior Briana Warren was named to the first team, while senior Shelbie Bagby was named to the second team.

BHS honorable mention selections were handed out to M.J. Alexander, Madison Montgomery and Victoria Walker.

The Mabank Lady Panthers received four nominations on the all-district team led by freshman Carson Marsh — who was a unanimous first team selection.

Junior forward Madison Holyfield was named to the first team. Her sister, Meagan Holyfield was named to the second team.

Teammate Jill Odom was also selected to the team as an honorable mention selection.

For Athens, they were led by senior Caridad Aguilera with a first team selection, while teammate Bryla Barker was named to the second team.

On the academic all-district team, Brownsboro had seven players named as Alexander, Shelbie Bagby,  Hightower,  Meosha Deed, Montgomery, Walker and Warren received recognition.

For Mabank, six players were named to the academic all district team.

Those players were junior Meagan Holyfield, junior Madison Holyfield, senior Caragan Colwell, sophomore Bry Colwell, junior Jess Vess and freshman Carson Marsh.

15-3A All-District Team


Most Valuable Player:

Kassidy Wilkerson, Senior, Canton*

Offensive Player of the Year:

Holly Raitz, Sophomore, Canton

Co-Defensive Players of the Year:

Jordan Dawson, Junior, Mineola

Sidney Hightower, Senior, Brownsboro

Newcomer of the Year:

Tamaria Manning, Freshman, Brownsboro

Co-Coaches of the Year:

Fred Griffin, Brownsboro; Dana Irvin, Canton

Text Only