Athens Review, Athens, Texas


June 9, 2014

2014 Athens Review All-HC baseball and softball

Athens — Here is the 2014 Athens Review All-Henderson County baseball and softball teams


Player of the Year

Garrett Conley

Athens • Senior

The past season was impressive for Conley as a leadoff hitter for the co-district champion Hornets.

Conley batted .360 with 42 runs scored, 20 RBI and 12 stolen bases.

He also finished the year with a 9-2 record on the mound and a 2.19 earned run average.

Conley struck out 79 batters with 18 walks in 13 games.

He allowed 35 runs — 21 of them earned in 67 innings of work.

He will be heading to East Texas Baptist in the fall.

Superlative winners

Coach of the Year

Rod McDaniel, Mabank

Offensive Player of the Year

Colt Conway    Junior    Mabank

Defensive Player of the Year

Dalton McCurley    Freshman    Cross Roads

King of the Hill

Corey Watkins    Senior    Kemp

Sophomore of the Year

Brandon Boyd        Athens

Newcomer of the Year

Tyler Johnson    Freshman    Cross Roads

First team

Pitcher    Ryan Covington    Senior    Brownsboro

Catcher    Bryce Allison    Senior    Kemp

First Base    Landon Mason    Junior    Brownsboro

Second Base    Michael Canales    Junior    Athens

Third Base    Adam Stallings    Senior    Athens

Shortstop    Travis Takata    Junior    Athens

Outfield    Trey Hazelip    Junior    Cross Roads

Outfield    Adam Penix    Senior    Mabank

Outfield    Skyler Himes    Sophomore    Cross Roads

Utility    Josh Darden    Senior    Athens

Second team

Pitcher    Forest Lane    Senior    Eustace

Catcher    Ty Winkelvoss    Sophomore    Mabank

First Base    Lance Funkhouser    Senior    Athens

Second Base    Cory Dodds    Sophomore    Brownsboro

Third Base    Pearson Johannesen    Freshman    Mabank

Shortstop    Kaleb Mandeville    Senior    Mabank

Outfield    Jesse Taylor    Senior    Athens

Outfield    Daniel Mossberger    Senior    Athens

Outfield    Braylon Cable    Junior    Malakoff

Honorable Mention

CROSS ROADS: Will Van Dusen, Raleigh Seilheimer, Kyle Miers, Nick Cobb

EUSTACE: Ryan Brown, Chance Scott, Sam Abrahamson

MALAKOFF: Hunter Snow, Jeff Foster

MABANK: Cody Thompson

LAPOYNOR: Andrew Wilkey



Player of the Year

Candace Denis

Malakoff • Sophomore

In her second year in the softball program, Denis was a key player for coach Matt Wittram’s regional quarterfinal squad.

Denis battled .515 with 12 home runs, 63 RBI, 20 stolen bases and 41 runs scored on 51 hits this season.

She also had a fielding percentage of .984 as the team’s shortstop.

Look for her to continue her strong play in the 2015 season.

Text Only