Athens Review, Athens, Texas

November 26, 2012

HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL: Hall, Prox named 15-3A’s top newcomers

Fincher, Hutson, Trussell and Durham unanimous as six Hornets named to first team

Jayson Larson
The Athens Review

ATHENS — The Athens Hornets had six first-team selections — including four players picked unanimously and a pair of superlative winners — on the recently released 15-3A all-district football team.

Senior linebacker George Hutson and senior kicker Jesse Durham, along with junior tight end Nic Fincher and sophomore defensive end Tyler Trussell, were unanimous picks for the Hornets (4-7), who qualified for the playoffs by winning their final three regular season games.

The Hornets saw junior linebacker K.J. Cumby and junior safety Anthony Sanders selected to the first team.

Sophomore running back Devin Hall was named co-Offensive Newcomer of the Year, while fellow sophomore Chris Prox, a defensive end, was named Defensive Newcomer of the Year.

Second-team picks included Sanders (at quarterback); junior running back Raheem Miller; Cumby (tight end); senior guard Dylon Deaver; and junior offensive tackles Juan Guzman and Jared Bailey. Fincher was a second-team pick at defensive tackle.

Linebackers Adam Stallings and Chris Jefferson, both juniors who missed time due to injury, were honorable mention picks for Athens.

The Brownsboro Bears — who finished 5-5 and missed the playoffs by one game after winning just once in 2011 — had five first-team players — senior quarterback Shelby Rogers; senior running back Johntae Walker; senior wide receiver Davonte Givens; senior offensive guard Joey Duncan; and junior defensive tackle Swaide Houston.

Four more Bears were second-team picks — senior wide receiver Cesar Gutierrez; junior wide receiver Tyler Thomison; junior linebacker Mitchell Penny; and senior defensive back Aaron Ramirez.

Nine Bears were honorable mention: running back Dustin Bendall; offensive lineman Austin Cunningham; linebackers Demetrius Moore and Quentin McKenzie; defensive backs Taylor Beall, Austin Carr and Rogers; defensive ends Darian Morse and Travis Daniell.

The Mabank Panthers, who finished winless in district, had one first-team selection in senior punter Colton Thomas. Senior linebacker Trevor Chasteen was a second-team pick, as was senior center Jordan Vanover.

Van senior quarterback Garrett Smallwood was a unanimous selection as the district’s Most Valuable Player. Canton sophomore quarterback Chandler Eiland was named Offensive Player of the Year, while Van senior defensive tackle Syd Moore was named Defensive Player of the Year. Athens’ Hall shared offensive newcomer honors with Van sophomore wide receiver Andrew Platter, and Van’s Jared Moffat was named Coach of the Year after leading the Vandals to an undefeated district title.