Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News


May 9, 2012

Hardware Hornets

Sanders, Ingram named top performers at Athens athletic banquet

ATHENS — The top Athens High School student-athletes were honored Monday at the annual athletic banquet, held at the Cain Center.

Kendall Sanders, a standout in football, track and basketball, was named Male Athlete of the year. Kristi Ingram, a member of the girls varsity soccer team, was named Female Athlete of the Year.

Winners are listed below in their respective sports:



Michael Daley — Defensive Player of the Year

Anthony Sanders — Offensive Player of the Year    

Dillon Holcomb — Defensive Lineman of the Year    

Scott Jordan — Offensive Lineman of the Year    

Adam Stallings — Linebacker of the Year    

Javonte Johnson — Receiver of the Year    

Chris Jefferson — Defensive Back of the Year    

Jawuan Martin — Offensive Back of the Year    

Devin Johnson — Special Team Player of the Year    

Kendall Sanders — Team Captain    

Michael Daley — Team Captain    

Danny Garza — Team Captain    

Dillon Holcomb — Team Captain    

Kendall Sanders — Seth Howard — Most Valuable Player    

Danny Garza — Kevin Loden Fighting Heart    


Eduardo Antonio — Most Valuable Runner (male)

Kacy Lunceford — Most Valuable Runner (female)


Dani Quade — Co-MVP

Abby Baker — Co-MVP    

Kelly Spears — Offensive Player of the Year    

Caridad Aguilera — Defensive Player of the Year    

Hannah Feinsod — Newcomer of the Year


Haley Durden — Newcomer of the Year

Hadley Cain — Freshman of the Year    

Hannah Windham — Co-MVP

Lucia Balderas — Defensive Player of the Year    

Halei Gabbert — Co-Offensive Player of the Year    

Hornet Leadership Award — Dani Quade    

Haley Maxfield — Heart of a Hornet Award    


Travis Takata — Offensive MVP

Michael Baker — Defensive MVP    

Garrett Conley     — MVP    

Gabe Gross — Hornet Award    


Shane Renberg  — Boys Co-MVP

Alec Hammac — Boys Co- MVP    

Abby Baker — Girls MVP    


Kendall Sanders — MVP Boys Track

Daniel Salazar — Hornet Tough Award    

Paul Prox — Newcomer of the Year    

Demi Cumby — Most Valuable Runner    Girls Track

Amber Coby — Most Valuable Field Events    

Caridad Aguilera — Heart Award    

Seaira Walker — Newcomer of the Year    


Nolan Whitley — Most Improved

Jessica Moore — Newcomer of the Year    

Cody Phelps — Hornet Award    


Jose Rodriguez — Boys Outstanding Lifter

Cheyenne Heitz — Girls Outstanding Lifter


Jose Romero — MVP

Bryant Castaneda — Offensive Player of the Year    

Carlos Murillo — Defensive Player of the Year    

Cesar Ortega — Newcomer of the Year    

Alfredo Vazquez — Hornet Heart Award    


Demi Cumby — MVP

Caridad Aguilera — Offensive Player of the Year    

Amber Coby — Defensive Player of the Year    

Avery Phillips — Heart Award    

Demi Cumby — Team Captain    

Avery Phillips — Team Captain    

Amber Coby — Team Captain    


Myranda Baumgartner — MVP

Gabby De La Garza — Defensive Player of the Year    

Daniela Carranza — Newcomer of the Year    

Kristi Ingram — Hornet Heart Award    


Henry LeBeau — Boys Swimmer of the Year

Paula Contois — Girls Swimmer of the Year    

Nico Morelli — Rookie of the Year    

Alex Garner — Most Improved    


Anthony Sanders — MVP

Anthony Taylor — Defensive MVP    

Patrick Clark — Mr. Hornet    

Terrance Behan    Offensive MVP    



Kendall Sanders



Kristi Ingram

Text Only