Athens Review, Athens, Texas

December 20, 2013

HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL: Hitting the books

16 local athletes named to Texas Sports Writers Academic all-state

Joe Elerson
The Athens Review

Athens — The Texas High School Coaches Association and State Farm Insurance have announced the THSCA Academic All-State Football Team for 2013-2014.

The teams are selected by a point system that awards points for GPA, class rank and SAT or ACT score.

The student-athletes are then placed on teams according to the number of points they have earned.

The Elite team represents the highest point total that can be achieved.

Criteria required to be nominated is as follows: must be a senior with an overall GPA of 92 or above, including grades 9-12 and the first six weeks of grade 12.

They must also be a member of a team in good standing at the time of nomination; and must be of good moral character. The program is in its 13th year and has steadily grown to more than 2,000 applicants.

The Texas High School Coaches Association is now recognizing Academic All-State athletes in 13 different sports.

Including both men's and women's athletics.

Mabank’s Andrew Parry and Brownsboro’s Josh Seale were the lone Henderson County high school football players to achieve Elite status.

For Athens, senior Nic Fincher and senior Tayron Hall were named to the honorable mention list.

Brownsboro received the most academic all-state kids with nine as Tristan Moore and Jared Bragdon were named to the second team.

Teammates Tristan Bussell, Chris Davis, Quentin McKenzie, Mitchell Penny, Tyler Thomison and Tanner Wilson received honorable mention.

MHS had five selections as Joseph Parry was named to the first team along with Mason Allen, Marcos Garza and Collin Martian on the honorable mention team.