Athens Review, Athens, Texas

June 29, 2013


Athens Grey opens tournament with 11-4 win over Athens Maroon

Joe Elerson
The Athens Review

Athens — The Athens Grey All-Stars opened up the 2013 12 and Under Dixie Youth baseball district tournament with an 11-4 win over the Athens Maroon All-Stars Friday night at Coleman Park.

Connor Woodard led the way for the Athens Grey as he went 3-for-4 with a run scored and an RBI, while teammate Zackery Cornelius went 2-for-3 with two runs scored and two RBI. Cornelius also had a triple in the game.

The Athens Grey scored in every inning against Maroon pitchers Thomas Perdue, Triston Fisher and Josh Bateman.

Athens Maroon jumped out to a 2-0 lead in the opening stanza as Rylan Benge scored on a double from Hunter Arnette. Following a wild pitch by Athens Grey starter Chris Garcia, Fisher smacked an RBI single that scored Arnette for the 2-0 lead.

Athens Grey then tied the game in the bottom of the first as Garcia drove in Woodard from second base for the 2-1 deficit.

Kobe Kale then grounded out to third baseman Bateman, but Garcia bolted his way to home plate to tie the game at 2-2.

In the top of the fourth inning, Athens Maroon’s T.J. Rockmore tied the game at 4-4 with a double off Garcia that plated Eli Feinsod and Preston Smith.

Feinsod led the way for the Athens Maroon as he went 2-for-3 at the plate with a run scored. Five other players recorded at least one hit off over Garcia.

Athens Grey then put the game out of reach with eight runs in the final three innings of play.

Coach David Cornelius team is now 1-0 in the tournament and will return to action Sunday night against the Fairfield All-Stars at 5:30 p.m.

The Athens Maroon team will return to action tonight against Palestine at 7:30 p.m. looking for their first win of the tournament.

In other action at Coleman Park, the 10 and Under District All-Star tournament also began on Friday night as the Athens All-Stars won 13-3 in five innings over Teague.

They will return to action tonight against the Palestine National All-Stars at 8 p.m.