The night the stars came out

Athens High School seniors Morgan Mayse and Brant Radcliff were the top award winners Monday night at the annual AHS All-Sports Banquet at Cain Center. Making the presentations were (from left) AHS coaches Keith Durrett and Jim Wommack. The event was sponsored by the Athens Hornet Athletic Booster Club.

robby robertson photo
Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Athens ISD athletic director (and birthday boy) Dan Hamrick probably summed it up best in his welcoming remarks at Monday night’s annual Athens High School All-Sports Banquet at Cain Center.

“This year has been a lot of fun with a lot of success,” Hamrick told the capacity crowd at the Athens Hornet Athletic Booster Club-sponsored event.

It’s doubtful anyone would disagree about his assessment of a school year in which varsity teams captured three district championships and two bi-district championships. Not to mention the many the individual achievement accomplishments of athletes and success on the sub-varsity levels.

“We’re excited to have a chance to honor our athletes tonight,” Hamrick said. “We thank them and we thank their parents for giving us the opportunity to work with these young people.”

By the time the well-planned event hit the three-hour mark, it was time for the unveiling of the top awards. Named AHS Athletes of the Year were multi-sport seniors Morgan Mayse and Brant Radcliff.

Mayse, who recently signed to attend Rice University on a basketball scholarship, was a member of the district champion Lady Hornet basketball team and next week will be in Austin attempting to win a second straight gold medal in the high jump.

Radcliff played football and ran track and is a member of the District 14-AAA champion Hornet baseball team, which will make its first playoff appearance since 2003 next week.

In addition to the district titles claimed by the girls basketball and the baseball team, AHS also saw its varsity girls cross country team claim a district title.

AHS also qualified for the playoffs in volleyball, soccer and softball. The Hornet soccer team claimed a bi-district championship, as did the Lady Hornet softball team last week.

All athletes were recognized by their respective coaches and special awards were presented. Here’s a list of award winners:


Heart Award — Holley Atkinson

Miss Lady Hornet Award — Libby Van Cleave


Most Dedicated (JV) — Kara Thompson

Most Dedicated (Varsity) — Ashley Angell


Top Performer — Staci Hankins


Defensive Player of Year — Holly Eckert

Offensive Player of Year — Allison Sanders

Most Valuable Player — Libby Van Cleave


Newcomer of Year — Ash Gimler

Most Improved — Chelsea Haley

Hornet Award — John Ray Sharp


Defensive Player of Year — Staci Hankins

Offensive Player of Year — Alex Furr

Most Valuable Player — Morgan Mayse


Mr. Defense — Simeon Neal

Mr. Get It Done — Russell Hopkins

Mr. Leadership — Kyle Harris

Most Valuable Player — Odrick Ray


Most Dedicated — Clayton Rhodes

Outstanding Lifter (Girls) — Odette Rivero

Outstanding Lifters (Boys — Robert McCall, Chase Johnson


Top Performer (Running) — Staci Hankins

Top Performer (Field Events) — Morgan Mayse


Outstanding Thrower — Clay Westmoreland

Newcomer of Year — Randall Gamble

Hornet Tough Award — Dhe’Ryan Jackson, Dexter Warfield

Most Valuable Player —Negale Miller


Outstanding Divers — Bryanna Bogowitz, Cory Goodrich

Award of Excellence — Emily Endress, Rourke Barrett

Hornet Award — Ashten Pickett, Mark Davis

Most Valuable Player (Girls) — Shaun Julian

Most Valuable Player (Boys) — Cody Robson


Offensive Player of Year — Jessica Castaneda

Defensive Player of Year — Karina Morales

Most Valuable Player — Carina Garcia


Newcomer of Year — Marco Torres

Offensive Players of Year — Jamie Chairez, Chris Abadie

Defensive Players of Year — Angel Nava, Sam Portales

Hornet Award — Sergio Tinoco

Most Valuable Player — Angel Chairez


Most Valuable Player (Girls) — Jesi Gardner

Most Valuable Player (Boys) — Dunman Foster


Defensive Most Valuable Player — Kalli Porter

Offensive Most Valuable Player — Brittni Vivion

Most Valuable Players — Libby Van Cleave, Holly Eckert


Awards will be presented upon conclusion of season.


Captains — Wesley Starkes, Odrick Ray, Simpson Rushing, Forrest Elder

Fighting Hornet Award — Kevin Till

Offensive Linemen of Year — Shane Campbell, Simpson Rushing

Defensive Lineman of Year — Levi Shepard

Special Teams Player of Year — Angel Nava

Kevin Loden Fighting Heart Award — Holden Kirksey

Offensive Player of Year — Simeon Neal

Defensive Player of Year — Forrest Elder

Seth Howard Most Valuable Player — Wesley Starkes

This Week's Circulars