Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

Opinion
  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Kathi.JPG Writing a column not always a simple task

    The Athens Review requires me to write a column every other Friday. I hate to admit it, but my life is just not that interesting. 
    Sometimes my mind just doesn't work fast enough to come up with a column idea every other week. When writing a column, it's important to have subject matter that at least one person would  identify with or find interesting.

    March 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Would you die for me?

    In less than two months I will be grinning from ear-to-ear and jumping for joy as I welcome Maylee Grace into the world.
    For years I wondered what it would be like to be a father. Now, my little girl has reached full term in her mommy's tummy, and it is just a matter of time before she makes her appearance.
    While I wondered what it would be like to be a father, I questioned whether or not I actually wanted to bring a child into this world we live in.
    Think about it.

    February 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Kathi Nailling Filtering my mouth would not be a bad thing

    Cedar Creek Lake is the fourth largest lake in Texas. The lake is one of the few lakes in Texas that allows private docks and boathouses.

    February 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG ... but some doubted

    Imagine spending more than 25 years of your life learning a certain trade only to have the rug pulled out from underneath you in a single moment.
    Imagine the sudden change was one that was never considered before and a road that was far less traveled.
    After three years of devoting your entire existence to this new trade, this new way of life, the rug was pulled out from underneath you again.
    A little unsettling don’t you think?

    January 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Kathi Nailling Tye is gone, but forever in our hearts

    I will admit it. In my business, I meet people I don't always have anything in common with. That's okay – that's what makes life interesting.

    January 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Kathi Nailling Community newspapers part of our history

    Are newspaper heading for extinction? Let's hope not. Nothing can take the place of reading your morning paper with a cup of hot of coffee.

    January 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Take me out to the ballgame

    There are few, if any, places that mean as much to me as Rangers Ballpark in Arlington.
    Funny thing is, it has little to do with the results of the games played on the field.
    Long before the park opened on my birthday, April 11, 1994, my dad was a key figure in making sure Ranger fans had a home to be proud of.
    Brownsboro High School graduate, Marshall Edward Wilson, Jr., helped build Rangers Ballpark and his name is forever enshrined near the first base entrance on a display for those who helped build the park.

    December 26, 2013

  • Kathi Nailling Ignoring child abuse problem won’t make it go away

    For those of you that might have missed it, this  past week the Athens Review has been running a series of stories titled “Girl in the Closet.”

    November 19, 2013 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase