Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

Opinion
  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Kathi.JPG Writing a column not always a simple task

    The Athens Review requires me to write a column every other Friday. I hate to admit it, but my life is just not that interesting. 
    Sometimes my mind just doesn't work fast enough to come up with a column idea every other week. When writing a column, it's important to have subject matter that at least one person would  identify with or find interesting.

    March 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Would you die for me?

    In less than two months I will be grinning from ear-to-ear and jumping for joy as I welcome Maylee Grace into the world.
    For years I wondered what it would be like to be a father. Now, my little girl has reached full term in her mommy's tummy, and it is just a matter of time before she makes her appearance.
    While I wondered what it would be like to be a father, I questioned whether or not I actually wanted to bring a child into this world we live in.
    Think about it.

    February 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Kathi Nailling Filtering my mouth would not be a bad thing

    Cedar Creek Lake is the fourth largest lake in Texas. The lake is one of the few lakes in Texas that allows private docks and boathouses.

    February 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG ... but some doubted

    Imagine spending more than 25 years of your life learning a certain trade only to have the rug pulled out from underneath you in a single moment.
    Imagine the sudden change was one that was never considered before and a road that was far less traveled.
    After three years of devoting your entire existence to this new trade, this new way of life, the rug was pulled out from underneath you again.
    A little unsettling don’t you think?

    January 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Kathi Nailling Tye is gone, but forever in our hearts

    I will admit it. In my business, I meet people I don't always have anything in common with. That's okay – that's what makes life interesting.

    January 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Kathi Nailling Community newspapers part of our history

    Are newspaper heading for extinction? Let's hope not. Nothing can take the place of reading your morning paper with a cup of hot of coffee.

    January 9, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN