Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

Opinion
  • Rich mug.jpg I miss the days when there was a TV season

    There are many ills affecting society today, and for most of them, I blame television.
    No, I’m not talking about the poor writing, the obsession with sex or the graphic violence. It’s not the endless stream of reality shows or singing competitions. I’m upset that there’s no such thing as a TV season anymore.

    May 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg Memorial Day is not just a day to take off work

    It’s one of those days that are unique.  It’s unique because few  human beings after Jesus Christ offered to gave everything, so that we may live.
    That’s what veterans who fought in our wars for us, and died in their attempts to protect us, actually did.

    May 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Selective hearing has its drawbacks

    Do we really listen?
    My hearing is becoming more selective by the day. It is scary.
    With a new baby at home, there are times my wife talks to me, I hear her voice but have no clue what she just said.
    Take for example Thursday night.
    Not long after I arrived home from covering a school board meeting my wife said something to me, next thing I know she was gone.

    May 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Area athletes stand up and give yourself a hand

    This one goes out to the high school athletes across the Henderson County area.
    Yes, they are the ones that I see on the field of battle throughout a school year.
    You have made it to the end of another successful year, and you are being recognized for your honors.

    May 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg Being bullied doesn’t have to affect your adulthood

    I was bullied as a kid in school. Unlike some other people, I don't feel like there were long-term effects on my life because of bullying.
    I am researching children being bullied for some upcoming articles in the Review. What I have found is that almost everyone feels like they have been bullied in one way or another. I have talked to parents who told me their children have been bullied, or they themselves were the target of bullies. No one yet has admitted to being a bully.

    May 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Don’t throw out the city’s needs with dispute over water

    Today is election day. In communities all around Texas, voters will exercise their right at the polls choosing community leaders, school officials and whether to authorize bonds for building projects.
    Fair elections are one of the main things that separate us from totalitarian states, where the government calls the shots, and will until you get a bigger army.

    May 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg Mother’s Day time to celebrate the greatest

    Mother’s Day is Sunday.  Obviously, it signals the celebration of one of the most important human beings, if not the absolute most important, that we as humans experience.
    According to an online site, the modern holiday of Mother's Day was first celebrated in 1908, when Anna Jarvis held a memorial for her mother in Grafton, W. Va.  She then began a campaign to make Mother's Day a recognized holiday in the U.S.

    May 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg It’s been a great year for Henderson County sports

    he 2013-14 sports year in Henderson County has been an amazing year for me as a writer.
    The success of all our teams has shown across the county and has been an amazing sight to see as we wrap up the year.
    We had five softball teams and five baseball teams make it to the bi-district round of the playoffs.
    We have also had two athletes advance to the state track and field meet, and one of our golfers finished sixth out of 86 golfers in Class 2A.

    May 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Stepping into the tank

    Like many of you, I enjoy watching Shark Tank on Friday nights, and wonder how well the products actually work, and if they indeed take off, once teamed with an investor.
    Much to my surprise, I received an e-mail a couple of weeks back from the promotional company for the U-Lace product pitched on Shark Tank in March.

    May 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg We have a lot to learn about the human body

    The human body is a complex system. The body still baffles doctors and researchers, despite all their medical knowledge.
    Here is something to think about. It is hard to grasp just how small the atoms that make up your body are until you take a look at the sheer number of them.

    May 2, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Palestinians and Israeli Soldiers Clash Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive