Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

Opinion
  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg I joke with people; then I hide for safety’s sake

    It’s not always fun getting older after you pass about 35.  For that reason, it’s been a while since giving the big number on my birthday was really what I believed was time for a party.
    I reached another age last month.  Yes, it was the number I just mentioned – plus 30.

    June 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg Drownings can decrease by learning to swim

    Working for the newspaper, I have the opportunity to report on what is happening throughout our community. 
    This week I visited with kids who were taking swimming lessons. It brought me back in time, to when I was a kid growing up on the beaches of Florida.

    June 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg 7-on-7 football tells us season is around the corner

    It's always football time in Texas, even if the game is 7-on-7 football.
    Sure, some people say that 7-on-7 is not football, because it is touch football with no lineman and no running game.
    I think it is the perfect style of football to help the quarterbacks learn the style and timing of their receivers, tight ends and running backs.

    June 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg The beginning of summer in Texas a hot time

    Texas is known for many wonderful things.  We see it in the movies, read about it in books and many of us cherish its attributes every day of our lives.
    Being born in McKinney, and raised in Waco, San Antonio and later living in Houston, and yet later in Athens, I can say without hesitation that Texas is a wonderful place to live.

    June 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Can you tell me what happened on June 6, 1944?

    I’ve heard  some people say they don’t like history, because it’s nothing but memorizing a lot of dates.
    It seems to me, they’re missing the point. History isn’t just the dates. It’s a collection of stories about people and the triumphs, trials and hardships of the days they lived. The protagonists in the stories walked on the moon, blazed trails in through the wilderness, and in some cases committed heinous acts against their fellow man.

    June 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Walk a mile in her shoes

    Like many men across Henderson County today, I will wear a pair of high-heeled shoes, and walk a mile around the courthouse square in Athens.
    The Walk a Mile in Her Shoes event is designed for men of the community to help raise awareness about a serious subject­domestic abuse.

    May 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Golfers beware – I’m coming to the course!

    FOURRRRRRRRR!
    This is a warning to my fellow teammates and golfers who will be playing with me next week at the 27th annual Coaches Playday golf tournament at Kings Creek Golf Club.
    It's not that I am not a fan of the game of golf, I am just letting you know I have no idea where my golf ball will land.

    May 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg I miss the days when there was a TV season

    There are many ills affecting society today, and for most of them, I blame television.
    No, I’m not talking about the poor writing, the obsession with sex or the graphic violence. It’s not the endless stream of reality shows or singing competitions. I’m upset that there’s no such thing as a TV season anymore.

    May 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg Memorial Day is not just a day to take off work

    It’s one of those days that are unique.  It’s unique because few  human beings after Jesus Christ offered to gave everything, so that we may live.
    That’s what veterans who fought in our wars for us, and died in their attempts to protect us, actually did.

    May 23, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 U.N. School in Gaza Hit by Israeli Strike Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Officials Warn of Avoidable Death in Hot Cars Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' House Committee at Odds Over Obama Lawsuit Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: UN School Used As Shelter Hit by Tank Shell Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record