Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

Opinion
  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg I joke with people; then I hide for safety’s sake

    It’s not always fun getting older after you pass about 35.  For that reason, it’s been a while since giving the big number on my birthday was really what I believed was time for a party.
    I reached another age last month.  Yes, it was the number I just mentioned – plus 30.

    June 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg Drownings can decrease by learning to swim

    Working for the newspaper, I have the opportunity to report on what is happening throughout our community. 
    This week I visited with kids who were taking swimming lessons. It brought me back in time, to when I was a kid growing up on the beaches of Florida.

    June 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg 7-on-7 football tells us season is around the corner

    It's always football time in Texas, even if the game is 7-on-7 football.
    Sure, some people say that 7-on-7 is not football, because it is touch football with no lineman and no running game.
    I think it is the perfect style of football to help the quarterbacks learn the style and timing of their receivers, tight ends and running backs.

    June 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg The beginning of summer in Texas a hot time

    Texas is known for many wonderful things.  We see it in the movies, read about it in books and many of us cherish its attributes every day of our lives.
    Being born in McKinney, and raised in Waco, San Antonio and later living in Houston, and yet later in Athens, I can say without hesitation that Texas is a wonderful place to live.

    June 7, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Can you tell me what happened on June 6, 1944?

    I’ve heard  some people say they don’t like history, because it’s nothing but memorizing a lot of dates.
    It seems to me, they’re missing the point. History isn’t just the dates. It’s a collection of stories about people and the triumphs, trials and hardships of the days they lived. The protagonists in the stories walked on the moon, blazed trails in through the wilderness, and in some cases committed heinous acts against their fellow man.

    June 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Walk a mile in her shoes

    Like many men across Henderson County today, I will wear a pair of high-heeled shoes, and walk a mile around the courthouse square in Athens.
    The Walk a Mile in Her Shoes event is designed for men of the community to help raise awareness about a serious subject­domestic abuse.

    May 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Golfers beware – I’m coming to the course!

    FOURRRRRRRRR!
    This is a warning to my fellow teammates and golfers who will be playing with me next week at the 27th annual Coaches Playday golf tournament at Kings Creek Golf Club.
    It's not that I am not a fan of the game of golf, I am just letting you know I have no idea where my golf ball will land.

    May 30, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii