Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

July 7, 2013

EDITORIAL: Cain Center moving forward with optimism

ATHENS — This year the Cain Center celebrates its 30th year. It seems in some ways a short time since this wonderful gift to our community was opened.

Even though many of us can remember a time without the Cain Center, it has been such a central part of our city's and county's fabric, that it is difficult to imagine life without the Cain Center.

Since the idea of the Cain Center was conceived in the late 1970s and early ’80s, it has had a unique attraction. Before this gem was donated to the citizens of Henderson County by the Cain Foundation, local citizens helped raise funds and work diligently to contribute their time and talents to see that the dream became a reality and the site for the Cain Center was purchased.

This same community spirit has continued over the past 30 years. Support and the desire to serve for the good of the public has been fostered by individuals, companies, organizations, the City of Athens, the County of Henderson and others to ensure the Cain Center meets the needs of the citizens of Henderson County.

Special friends include the Cain Foundation and the Virginia Murchison Foundation, whose compassion and generosity have provided so much to improve the quality of life of our community. Without the support and encouragement of those benevolent foundations, the Cain Center would not be what it is today.

The City of Athens renders various levels of support and continues to contribute greatly to the success of the Cain Center.

No one group can be singled out in its support. The Cain Center is a United Way agency and member of the Athens Chamber of Commerce and works closely with the Trinity Valley Community College, the Athens Independent School District and other institutions to enhance our quality of life.

As we look forward to the next 30 years, we do so with a sense of pride and optimism that the Cain Center will continue to grow in scope of services it provides and will continue to be the wonderful asset that all ages can utilize and enjoy.

Challenges to improve and dealing with the cost of maintaining the facility while remaining an affordable venue for the general public are being met with a “can do” attitude for staff, volunteers, board members and other organizations to ensure the Cain Center’s continued success.

The board of the Cain Center offers a heartfelt thanks to the Cain Foundation for its vision and generosity and to all who have guided and supported the Cain Center over the past 30 years to help make the Cain Center a viable institution for the benefit of our great community.

Steve Grant

Cain Center Inc. President

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Jeff's mug.jpg Serial killers an interesting group of people

    I don’t mean to scare you - at least not for the wrong reasons.
    One of the reasons my wife, Jean and I married is that we liked many of the same things.  That includes entertainment.  And that further means, the same kind of movies.
    Many times we have found ourselves going to theaters to see Stephen King movies, such as “Carrie,” “Misery,” and the list is just too long to mention here.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction