Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

July 7, 2013

EDITORIAL: Cain Center moving forward with optimism

ATHENS — This year the Cain Center celebrates its 30th year. It seems in some ways a short time since this wonderful gift to our community was opened.

Even though many of us can remember a time without the Cain Center, it has been such a central part of our city's and county's fabric, that it is difficult to imagine life without the Cain Center.

Since the idea of the Cain Center was conceived in the late 1970s and early ’80s, it has had a unique attraction. Before this gem was donated to the citizens of Henderson County by the Cain Foundation, local citizens helped raise funds and work diligently to contribute their time and talents to see that the dream became a reality and the site for the Cain Center was purchased.

This same community spirit has continued over the past 30 years. Support and the desire to serve for the good of the public has been fostered by individuals, companies, organizations, the City of Athens, the County of Henderson and others to ensure the Cain Center meets the needs of the citizens of Henderson County.

Special friends include the Cain Foundation and the Virginia Murchison Foundation, whose compassion and generosity have provided so much to improve the quality of life of our community. Without the support and encouragement of those benevolent foundations, the Cain Center would not be what it is today.

The City of Athens renders various levels of support and continues to contribute greatly to the success of the Cain Center.

No one group can be singled out in its support. The Cain Center is a United Way agency and member of the Athens Chamber of Commerce and works closely with the Trinity Valley Community College, the Athens Independent School District and other institutions to enhance our quality of life.

As we look forward to the next 30 years, we do so with a sense of pride and optimism that the Cain Center will continue to grow in scope of services it provides and will continue to be the wonderful asset that all ages can utilize and enjoy.

Challenges to improve and dealing with the cost of maintaining the facility while remaining an affordable venue for the general public are being met with a “can do” attitude for staff, volunteers, board members and other organizations to ensure the Cain Center’s continued success.

The board of the Cain Center offers a heartfelt thanks to the Cain Foundation for its vision and generosity and to all who have guided and supported the Cain Center over the past 30 years to help make the Cain Center a viable institution for the benefit of our great community.

Steve Grant

Cain Center Inc. President

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • TVCC’s Lovato proves success breeds champions

    Tuesday night was another special night for the athletic program at Trinity Valley Community College.
    It wasn’t a night where a team finished out another amazing season, but one of celebration for a team fans across Henderson County have come to love during the basketball season.
    The Celebrate 8 ceremony for the TVCC Lady Cardinals was held at Cardinal Gym to recognize a team that has accomplished a history-making feat most teams could only dream of.

    April 21, 2014

  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: Obama Tours Gyeongbok Palace Swimmer Michael Phelps Back in Competition Raw: Obama Lays Korean War Memorial Wreath Obama Leads Naturalization Ceremony in Seoul Calif. School Bus Crash Hurts Driver, 11 Kids Country Club for Exotic Cars Little Science Behind 'Pollen Vortex' Prediction US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents