Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

September 3, 2013

A reminder of hard truths at humane society

Athens — In our Friday edition, we reported on a conflict that arose when the Henderson County Humane Society euthanized eight puppies within minutes of receiving them from an area man.

The man, who lives near Kemp, had traveled to the animal shelter in Tool and was turned away due to space issues — an all-too-common problem faced by animal shelters everywhere. He was directed to the humane society in Athens, and upon arrival, he says he was told the puppies would have a chance to be adopted.

Before leaving the grounds, the man had a change of heart and asked for his animals back. He was informed they had already been euthanized.

HCHS director Norma Lambert told us earlier this week that her organization doesn’t regret the actions it took because they followed their standard operating procedure. She admitted, however, the man should not have been told his animals had a chance to be adopted when, at first glance, workers at the humane society knew otherwise. Trying to spare someone’s feelings regarding their animals is commendable, but in these kinds of cases, the truth — even the hard truth — is almost always going to be the best policy.

We won’t rehash all the other details here (you can read the article on our website at athensreview.-com), but the story provided a reminder that humane societies such as ours face a dire situation where the needs are endless and the resources are few.   

As we delved deeper into the details, we were forced to reflect on some of the harsh realities workers face at humane societies and shelters.

Space and funds to care for animals falls far short of the number of animals that enter the gates — Lambert says that number is around 600 animals per month, or 7,200 per year.

Workers know which animals are “adoptable” and which ones aren’t. The ones that aren’t — a judgement that, in this particular case, is made by workers who have years and decades of experience — are often euthanized.

If space weren’t an issue, we suspect more animals would survive. Lambert herself said in April that more funds could mean “we see for the future that there would be no need for any animals to be put to sleep.”

Even so, we suspect many people will be outraged to hear that the fate of some animals at the shelter hinges on something as arbitrary as “adoptability.” It’s just that many of those same people aren’t outraged enough to help so that less of those difficult choices have to be made.

The community bears some responsibility to help alleviate the problem. Getting your pet spayed or neutered is a big part of the solution. Lambert says such procedures have cost the humane society $35,000 over the past four years.

When making a decision to take on animals, we must consider all the factors, counting not just how much feeding and sheltering them might cost, but what it will cost to help control the animal population.

Not making those considerations may ultimately be costly to the animal.

— Athens Review

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case