Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

September 3, 2013

A reminder of hard truths at humane society

Athens — In our Friday edition, we reported on a conflict that arose when the Henderson County Humane Society euthanized eight puppies within minutes of receiving them from an area man.

The man, who lives near Kemp, had traveled to the animal shelter in Tool and was turned away due to space issues — an all-too-common problem faced by animal shelters everywhere. He was directed to the humane society in Athens, and upon arrival, he says he was told the puppies would have a chance to be adopted.

Before leaving the grounds, the man had a change of heart and asked for his animals back. He was informed they had already been euthanized.

HCHS director Norma Lambert told us earlier this week that her organization doesn’t regret the actions it took because they followed their standard operating procedure. She admitted, however, the man should not have been told his animals had a chance to be adopted when, at first glance, workers at the humane society knew otherwise. Trying to spare someone’s feelings regarding their animals is commendable, but in these kinds of cases, the truth — even the hard truth — is almost always going to be the best policy.

We won’t rehash all the other details here (you can read the article on our website at athensreview.-com), but the story provided a reminder that humane societies such as ours face a dire situation where the needs are endless and the resources are few.   

As we delved deeper into the details, we were forced to reflect on some of the harsh realities workers face at humane societies and shelters.

Space and funds to care for animals falls far short of the number of animals that enter the gates — Lambert says that number is around 600 animals per month, or 7,200 per year.

Workers know which animals are “adoptable” and which ones aren’t. The ones that aren’t — a judgement that, in this particular case, is made by workers who have years and decades of experience — are often euthanized.

If space weren’t an issue, we suspect more animals would survive. Lambert herself said in April that more funds could mean “we see for the future that there would be no need for any animals to be put to sleep.”

Even so, we suspect many people will be outraged to hear that the fate of some animals at the shelter hinges on something as arbitrary as “adoptability.” It’s just that many of those same people aren’t outraged enough to help so that less of those difficult choices have to be made.

The community bears some responsibility to help alleviate the problem. Getting your pet spayed or neutered is a big part of the solution. Lambert says such procedures have cost the humane society $35,000 over the past four years.

When making a decision to take on animals, we must consider all the factors, counting not just how much feeding and sheltering them might cost, but what it will cost to help control the animal population.

Not making those considerations may ultimately be costly to the animal.

— Athens Review

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA