Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

September 3, 2013

A reminder of hard truths at humane society

Athens — In our Friday edition, we reported on a conflict that arose when the Henderson County Humane Society euthanized eight puppies within minutes of receiving them from an area man.

The man, who lives near Kemp, had traveled to the animal shelter in Tool and was turned away due to space issues — an all-too-common problem faced by animal shelters everywhere. He was directed to the humane society in Athens, and upon arrival, he says he was told the puppies would have a chance to be adopted.

Before leaving the grounds, the man had a change of heart and asked for his animals back. He was informed they had already been euthanized.

HCHS director Norma Lambert told us earlier this week that her organization doesn’t regret the actions it took because they followed their standard operating procedure. She admitted, however, the man should not have been told his animals had a chance to be adopted when, at first glance, workers at the humane society knew otherwise. Trying to spare someone’s feelings regarding their animals is commendable, but in these kinds of cases, the truth — even the hard truth — is almost always going to be the best policy.

We won’t rehash all the other details here (you can read the article on our website at athensreview.-com), but the story provided a reminder that humane societies such as ours face a dire situation where the needs are endless and the resources are few.   

As we delved deeper into the details, we were forced to reflect on some of the harsh realities workers face at humane societies and shelters.

Space and funds to care for animals falls far short of the number of animals that enter the gates — Lambert says that number is around 600 animals per month, or 7,200 per year.

Workers know which animals are “adoptable” and which ones aren’t. The ones that aren’t — a judgement that, in this particular case, is made by workers who have years and decades of experience — are often euthanized.

If space weren’t an issue, we suspect more animals would survive. Lambert herself said in April that more funds could mean “we see for the future that there would be no need for any animals to be put to sleep.”

Even so, we suspect many people will be outraged to hear that the fate of some animals at the shelter hinges on something as arbitrary as “adoptability.” It’s just that many of those same people aren’t outraged enough to help so that less of those difficult choices have to be made.

The community bears some responsibility to help alleviate the problem. Getting your pet spayed or neutered is a big part of the solution. Lambert says such procedures have cost the humane society $35,000 over the past four years.

When making a decision to take on animals, we must consider all the factors, counting not just how much feeding and sheltering them might cost, but what it will cost to help control the animal population.

Not making those considerations may ultimately be costly to the animal.

— Athens Review

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament