Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

March 7, 2014

Writing a column not always a simple task

Athens — The Athens Review requires me to write a column every other Friday. I hate to admit it, but my life is just not that interesting. 

Sometimes my mind just doesn't work fast enough to come up with a column idea every other week. When writing a column, it's important to have subject matter that at least one person would  identify with or find interesting.

This is how the Internet defines a newspaper column - A newspaper column is a recurring article in the newspaper that is usually written by columnists. It generally gives personal points, perspectives and opinions on different social, economical and political issues.

Common types of newspaper columns include humor column, advice column, gossip and showbiz column, critical review column, etc.

I looked at that list, and decided I could be an advice columnist or possibly a gossip columnist. I would love to give advice to a few people I know. And what girl wouldn't want to gossip for a living?

I don't mind writing columns when I have  good subject matter. When I was going through chemotherapy, I wrote a column every couple of weeks about my experience with chemo. During that time, I had what is commonly  known as Chemo brain, and each week, I was living in a different world.

Most columns should be less than 600 words. They say you should keep it short and keep the reader from getting bored. Column writing can be the bread and butter for some journalists.

While researching information on good-column writing, I ran across a website that said writing a column requires clarity of thought, the ability to communicate a message clearly and simply, and an engaging style. The column must be planned, so that the writer knows before he or she starts, just what they are going to say.

And there lies the problem. I never plan a column. I just start writing, and hope it makes some kind of sense.

The New York Times gives personal column writing ideas. The one that intrigued me the most, was write your own obituary.  The New York Times said to base your obituary on what you envision for yourself. And for those who know you. My friends would have a field day with what I think about myself. 

Another website said make your column simple. Do not write beyond the intelligence of your average reader. The article went on to say you might be dazzled by your intelligence, but if your readers cannot understand your language, then you wasted your time and effort.

I can promise you, my intelligence won't dazzle anyone, including myself.

I was told that the more research I do, the better-informed I would be about writing a column. The better-informed I am, the more credibility I will have. The article said, “Remember, you are trying to be taken seriously, and you will be taken more seriously if you know what you are writing about.”

I did my research, and am trying to take myself seriously – not the easiest task. Still nothing came to mind except to write a column about writing a column.

What I did find in my research, is a strong ending to your column is important.  The ending rewards the reader for sticking around to read the column. Any reader who stuck around to the end of this column, definitely should be rewarded. 

Okay, so this is my ending. I need help. If you have a subject matter or a story line you would like to see in the pages of the Athens Review, I am your girl. Send all columns or story suggestions to knailling@athensreview.com. 

If not a column idea. I am always looking for good feature stories.

Kathi Nailling is a Staff Writer for the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment