Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

September 27, 2012

My wife has bravery most people only dream of

Athens — I think I wrote a column once about how I was tossed from the back of a galloping horse when I was a child in Waco. 

I was about 14 or 15, and was playing football during that time period in my school.  As a result of the toss, I was temporarily partially-paralyzed, and had to walk on crutches to football practice or anywhere else.

This taught me that I didn’t want to do anything that might hurt me as that did.  Here I was, crutching my way to football practice every afternoon after school, standing at the sideline, watching everyone else have fun.

Also, I wasn’t for sure from my doctor if the paralysis would leave, or stay with me for the rest of my life.

It came out that after a short period, say about a month, I was back to normal, and doing things that I had once done, and like any 15-year-old might wish to do.

I am so thankful that I was ever able to shake off the paralysis.

So, I grow up, and get married to someone much braver than I.  She has a concussion after falling from a horse in Oklahoma.  She spends a couple of days in ETMC Athens. I hear her doctor say, in no uncertain terms, that she should definitely consider giving up the horse activities.

My wife Jean, later falls in a parking lot, and has spinal column injuries.  She goes back to  the Houston area to the same doctor that planted a metal plate and six screws about 15 or 20 years ago after she saved a child from falling off a performance stage during my wife’s employment as Recreation Supervisor with the City of Deer Park. The stress of the weight of the child caused damage to her neck and back.

That doctor, a neurosurgeon,  during this last surgical move, did his stuff again.  She had to be very careful not to strain her back in any way, including horses or any other activity.

She obeyed the doctor (somewhat).  She relaxed (somewhat), until the time was safe for her to return to more strenuous activity.

Then, when things were better, she took a couple of her horses to a horse doctor, got back home, and began chasing a horse that still had its halter affixed to its head.

She felt for its safety, and chased it.  She then stepped in a hole, and twisted her entire left leg, breaking a bone in that leg, making it impossible for her to walk.

She then realized she had left her cell phone in the vehicle that had pulled the trailer that took the horses to their doctor.

She had to crawl about 50 feet or more through sand, ants and rocks in a temperature of about 102 degrees.  After she got to vehicle, she strained her body to reach her cell phone, and called me.

She calmly said, “Jeff, you need to come home now.  I need your help.”

I went home, and we went to a local doctor for assistance.  That was about a month ago, and the pain remains.

She has guts.  Much more than I do.  She is able to return to the horses, which she will again.  She is already speaking with people on the phone about her next trail ride.

Guts!

Me?  I never rode motorcycles, because I heard in the news of people mangled during accidents.  But, then, I heard of that happening to people who drove cars (even sober people), and it happened to them too.  Yet, I’ve been driving for several decades.

Just after we married, Jean set me up for skydiving school, because I told her that was one thing I would love to do before I took my last breath.

I went through the school, enjoying every minute.  Then, just before the big day of taking that first jump, I remembered my mother, who had emphysema, who probably wouldn’t be around long.  I said to Jean that I couldn’t let her die, knowing that her son had maybe died jumping out of a plane.  If, indeed that would happen.

Jean understood, and said we would take it back up at some point in the future. 

Note that my mother has been gone since 1994, and I haven’t jumped yet. Maybe there was another motive when I did not jump.

Yet, Jean has the guts in our family.  She is solid rock, a real trooper.  She’ll be riding those horses that are stronger than she and I combined in a very short time.

She really has the guts!

Jeff Riggs is Editor of the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment