Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

September 27, 2012

My wife has bravery most people only dream of

Athens — I think I wrote a column once about how I was tossed from the back of a galloping horse when I was a child in Waco. 

I was about 14 or 15, and was playing football during that time period in my school.  As a result of the toss, I was temporarily partially-paralyzed, and had to walk on crutches to football practice or anywhere else.

This taught me that I didn’t want to do anything that might hurt me as that did.  Here I was, crutching my way to football practice every afternoon after school, standing at the sideline, watching everyone else have fun.

Also, I wasn’t for sure from my doctor if the paralysis would leave, or stay with me for the rest of my life.

It came out that after a short period, say about a month, I was back to normal, and doing things that I had once done, and like any 15-year-old might wish to do.

I am so thankful that I was ever able to shake off the paralysis.

So, I grow up, and get married to someone much braver than I.  She has a concussion after falling from a horse in Oklahoma.  She spends a couple of days in ETMC Athens. I hear her doctor say, in no uncertain terms, that she should definitely consider giving up the horse activities.

My wife Jean, later falls in a parking lot, and has spinal column injuries.  She goes back to  the Houston area to the same doctor that planted a metal plate and six screws about 15 or 20 years ago after she saved a child from falling off a performance stage during my wife’s employment as Recreation Supervisor with the City of Deer Park. The stress of the weight of the child caused damage to her neck and back.

That doctor, a neurosurgeon,  during this last surgical move, did his stuff again.  She had to be very careful not to strain her back in any way, including horses or any other activity.

She obeyed the doctor (somewhat).  She relaxed (somewhat), until the time was safe for her to return to more strenuous activity.

Then, when things were better, she took a couple of her horses to a horse doctor, got back home, and began chasing a horse that still had its halter affixed to its head.

She felt for its safety, and chased it.  She then stepped in a hole, and twisted her entire left leg, breaking a bone in that leg, making it impossible for her to walk.

She then realized she had left her cell phone in the vehicle that had pulled the trailer that took the horses to their doctor.

She had to crawl about 50 feet or more through sand, ants and rocks in a temperature of about 102 degrees.  After she got to vehicle, she strained her body to reach her cell phone, and called me.

She calmly said, “Jeff, you need to come home now.  I need your help.”

I went home, and we went to a local doctor for assistance.  That was about a month ago, and the pain remains.

She has guts.  Much more than I do.  She is able to return to the horses, which she will again.  She is already speaking with people on the phone about her next trail ride.

Guts!

Me?  I never rode motorcycles, because I heard in the news of people mangled during accidents.  But, then, I heard of that happening to people who drove cars (even sober people), and it happened to them too.  Yet, I’ve been driving for several decades.

Just after we married, Jean set me up for skydiving school, because I told her that was one thing I would love to do before I took my last breath.

I went through the school, enjoying every minute.  Then, just before the big day of taking that first jump, I remembered my mother, who had emphysema, who probably wouldn’t be around long.  I said to Jean that I couldn’t let her die, knowing that her son had maybe died jumping out of a plane.  If, indeed that would happen.

Jean understood, and said we would take it back up at some point in the future. 

Note that my mother has been gone since 1994, and I haven’t jumped yet. Maybe there was another motive when I did not jump.

Yet, Jean has the guts in our family.  She is solid rock, a real trooper.  She’ll be riding those horses that are stronger than she and I combined in a very short time.

She really has the guts!

Jeff Riggs is Editor of the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest