Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

May 18, 2013

KATHI NAILLING: I’m not ready to retire just yet — I’m just thinking about it

ATHENS — Retire? Who retires? I have reached that age where retirement could be part of my future. Too many times I hear my friends say I can’t afford to retire. Well, I can’t. But, I am thinking more about what I would do if I  were to ever to retire.

Jackie, my husband, retired at 62. He was 13 years my senior. Jackie planned his retirement. Me not so much. He always said when he turned 62 he was retiring. He also had a young wife who could continue working  and make sure he was insured.  He had it made. Jackie loved retirement and never looked back. I don’t have the luxury Jackie had of being insured at 62. Retirement may have to wait.

I do know the day will come when I will want to slow down, or maybe I won’t have a choice — eventually that age thing is going to catch me. The day will come when I may just run out of energy.  I have never considered myself a workaholic, but I do enjoy most aspects of my job.

What would I do if I retire?

Many people view retirement as a time to quit working. I know I will have to do something. Work part time or volunteer. I just know during my golden years I don’t want to sit on the front porch rocking.

If I ever got the chance to do life over again,  I might have made more choices. I would have taken more chances and had more adventures. Maybe not taken myself so seriously. There is a poem called, “If I Had My Life to Live Over,” and it was written an 85-year-old woman. Part of the poem reads, “I’d dare to make more mistakes next time;  I’d relax. I would limber up; I would be sillier than I have been this trip; I would take fewer things seriously; I would take more chances; I would take more trips; I would climb more mountains and swim more rivers; I would eat more ice cream and less beans; I would perhaps have more actual troubles but I’d have fewer imaginary ones.” The woman was talking about herself, but it could have been me. Or it could be any of us thinking about getting older.

I have worked for newspapers for more years than I care to remember. It’s my kind of career, because I am nosey and want to know everything. It’s in my genes.  We are a nosey bunch of people. There may be times, like any other job, it  gets overwhelming. Then some breaking news story happens and you again realize why you chose journalism.  Newspapers gave me the opportunity to meet some really great people I may have never known had I chosen a different career.

The New York Times printed a study from Yale researchers that said losing a job at an older age can be devastating to your health. I don’t need anything else to devastate my health. Not that I  think I will lose my job, at least I hope not. It’s just time to think about retirement. It gets tiring thinking about retiring.

I still am not sure what I would do if I retired. What I do know is I could never stay home cleaning, cooking, doing yard work or anything so domesticated. Just ask my friends — Susie homemaker I am not. That’s OK if that is what you like. It’s just not me. Jackie did all the cooking in our family. I clean the house because I hate a dirty house. Again, Jackie was great at cleaning the house. The yard work, I would rather hire someone to do it.

So what is left in retirement? Volunteering! I have always wanted to be a CASA volunteer. Road to Recovery is a Breast Cancer support group, and I could do that. Meals on Wheels is another organization always looking for volunteers. I would love to work with the adult GED classes. This will all have to wait until I make that decision to retire. My job obligations don’t afford me the time needed for some of this volunteer work, but retirement will.

They say life begins at retirement. I guess I still have a little while before I will have to find out  how my life will begin.

E-mail Kathi Nailling at knailling@athensreview.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case