Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

April 27, 2013

RICH FLOWERS: Sometimes shortcuts just end up setting you further back

ATHENS — These days, when I drive to work from Poynor, I have to maneuver past an annoying construction site on U.S. Highway 175.

The work crew is adding shoulders to a skinny portion of the heavily traveled road, so I have to keep my eye peeled for the dreaded flagman. Even though I know the Texas Department of Transportation is doing all of this work for my good, I start every morning with the potential of a long traffic delay that’s sure to try my patience.

When I see a line of cars up ahead I know the flag person will hold up a sign that says “STOP.” That’s right, I said a sign. It seems TxDOT retired the red flags decades ago, but the “flagman” title stuck. In most cases, the wait doesn’t last more than about five minutes, but it’s five minutes that I have to sit there in my F-150, breathing diesel fumes waiting for the caravan of cars to creep past from the opposite direction. Finally, they’ll pass and my westbound row will get its turn.

Now, I’m of the personality type that hates waiting in line. I’ll drive 30 minutes out of the way to avoid a five-minute delay. I’ve done that a few times lately, leaving the straight-as-an-arrow certainty of Highway 175 to try to find that county road that will cut past the line of cars and merge back onto the highway.

My first shortcut took me to the New York community, so I figured I’d just get on the road to Leagueville and Farm-to-Market Road 317 to the road that goes by the Fisheries Center. Sure enough, I was 30 minutes late for work, but in a cheerful mood because of the rolling hills and blooming flowers I saw along the way. There’s something to be said for  getting to work in a good mood without stopping for donuts.

The next day, I decided not to deviate so far from the main road, but instead travel the scenic route just far enough to cut in front of the suckers who sat waiting for the flag person to flip his sign. Sure enough, I found a county road that led to another county road that led back to U.S. 175 just past the point where the construction signs were.

Well, actually, I should have said, where the construction signs used to be. I pulled back onto the highway to learn that work had progressed to the point where I was behind the line of cars again. This made me madder, and later, than ever.

Having failed to find a suitable back road to breeze past the construction location, I realize that my options are down to taking the long way every day, getting up early enough each to leave before construction begins, or just preparing myself to sit and wait out the delay. I can use those minutes to check my e-mails, or even do a little texting.

 That’s the way it’s been the past few days — watching the construction crew slowly progress toward getting the roadsides ready for paving. When it’s finished we’ll actually have shoulders on a pretty scary part of the highway. If you ever have a flat tire on that stretch of road you’ll be happy to for that extra few feet of pavement.

   That’s the way it is with highway projects. I drive by them day after day for months thinking they’ll never get finished, then once they’re completed, take the convenience of a new loop or four-lane highway for granted.

So the next time I’m stuck in the U.S. 175 line, I think I’ll take some time to watch the heavy equipment operate and the construction crew at work.

Actually, I don’t know if that’s me or the diesel fumes talking.

Rich Flowers is news editor for the Athens Review. He can be reached at rflowers@athensreview.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel