Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

August 13, 2012

Make your last gift your best one! Part two

Athens — Eston Williams is a Minister at Aley United Methodist Church. This is the second of a two-part series the Rev. Williams has written. Part one ran in Friday’s Athens Daily Review.

As I was studying end-of-life issues, an important book came into my world written by two sisters. 

Dr. Jeanne Fitzgerald is an emergency room physician and her sister, Eileen, is an attorney.  They draw on two lifetimes of experience helping families answer these very difficult questions, and have some suggestions that can help us make the best choices at the end of our lives. 

Their book, “A Better Way of Dying: How to Make the Best Choices at the End of Life,” introduces a very helpful concept which they call “The Compassion Protocol.”

Their “Contract for Compassionate Care” gives us the opportunity to be much more specific about the way we want to be treated at the end of life. 

In addition to the wording in the Directive to Physicians required by Texas law, they encourage us to state clearly our desires, should we have an advanced progressive illness, become permanently unconscious, experience persistent extraordinary pain and/or suffer from dementia.

Based on their ideas, here is the way I have worded my advance directive:

“If I live to an extremely old age, and my body is beyond repair, I do not want to be kept alive.  I want to take advantage of the next exit event, whether it be pneumonia, infection, heart attack or cessation of breathing.  Do not resuscitate me, and do not take me to the hospital, or give me any medicine which would keep me here.  Please keep me comfortable and conscious with pain-reducing medications.

“If for any reason I am unable to tell you what I want, assume that on the inside I am screaming at you, ‘Please let me die!’

“If I suffer from any of the following conditions, please cease all curative care, and provide only comfort care: 

• I can no longer recognize or interact with my family and friends.

• I can no longer respond to commands or requests.

• I am in severe and untreatable pain.

• I can no longer feed myself.

• I have to be on kidney dialysis.

• I must use a breathing machine or feeding tube.

• I cannot take care of myself, and need someone to care for me 24/7.

• I can no longer control my bowels.

“If I begin the long, slow decline into dementia, due to Alzheimer’s, let me take advantage of any possible exit event, and die a natural death, without a trip to the hospital for pneumonia or other curable illness.  Even fairly early in Alzheimer’s, while I am still able to carry on coherent conversations at times, and still recognize family members most of the time, I do not want to live when my mind no longer works. 

“Do not rob me of an exit event early in dementia that could save me from a year or two (or five or 10) in a nursing home, or at home when I would be a burden to my family.

“Should I start to refuse food and water, naturally as the disease progresses, stop asking to eat or drink, and stop reminding me to do so.  Please place food and water by my bedside three times daily, but without interference, and let me decide whether to eat or drink.”

Now let me emphasize that I am not encouraging you to make the same decisions that I have made.  What I am encouraging you to do is to do your homework and make these very difficult choices yourself. 

Consult with your doctor and with those who love you. Do the paperwork required. Choose and designate a healthcare decision-maker, and give them a medical power-of-attorney, so that they can insure that your desires are followed.

Please don’t force your family to make these decisions for you.  Give them the last gift you will ever be able to give them, the gift of knowing what you want. 

Leave them knowing that you love them so much that you wanted to relieve them of the burden of making those decisions for you.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest