Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

July 11, 2014

Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

Athens — Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.

Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.

I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

The 7:30 a.m. practices will test you in ways that will make you proud to step on to the football field or the volleyball court. It will also make you proud when you hear the roar of the crowd when you do something special during a game.

As you prepare to wrap up your summer in three weeks, I am getting ready to embark on my 14th year of covering high school and college sports across Northeast and East Texas.

With that in mind, I lay out a challenge for you guys this season: Listen to your coaches, and use your talents to the best of your abilities.

If there was one thing I wish I could have done when I was in high school, it was trying out for teams and  having the work ethic to play sports.

I tried every sport when I was in middle school, except for baseball and golf, and quickly found out that God did not give me the talent to succeed on the football field, the basketball court or on the track.

Sure, I was not the greatest athlete, but I would try to do my best, and help the team when I played. The work that I put in was difficult at times, but I was my worst critic, and decided I did not want to spend high school not playing a sport and letting people down.

It did not consist of the fact that I did not try to be a good athlete, but God wanted me to take a different path in life.

If there is one thing that I have learned in my 14 years of covering sports, it is that the coaches always want what is best for their athletes.

That is another thing that impresses me about the interaction I have with all of the coaches in our coverage area.

These coaches will make it a point to stress the fact that the success of the team is equal to the sum of its parts.

You will never hear a bad word from the coaches about how the team has played, because above all else, they want to give them something to build on once they walk across the stage for graduation after their senior year.

We have some amazing students around Henderson County who will give everything they have to make everyone around them better.

I hope our athletes do not take the game for granted and center their play on individual accolades. The honors will come for some athletes, but the success of the team is based on the play of everyone involved.

Bruce Lee once said, “Always be yourself, express yourself, have faith in yourself, do not go out and look for a successful personality and duplicate it.”

You may not think the work that you put in during the offseason will help the team out, but once you see the success it will all pay off.

I cannot wait to sit in the stands or walk the sidelines and see if you took advantage of the challenge that I have laid out.

It could be one of the best life lessons that you have learned in high school.

So with that being said, it is time to wake up and make this day one that you will never forget.

Joe Elerson is the sports writer for the Athens Review. He can be reached at sportseditor@athensreview.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage