Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

June 27, 2014

Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

Athens — You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.

Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”

People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

Some people think the words just flow onto the page. Most times I spend the majority of my time looking at the page trying to figure out what is the most creative way to draw my audience into the story I have covered.

Sure, in the world of sports most people have already seen the game. So they know what happened.  My job then becomes finding a way to tell them something they may not have seen during the two-hours they were watching the game.

Recently, the idea of getting story ideas during the summer has been interesting. It is not that things are not going on, but what is something people may not think of during the two months when my expertise slows down.

I have had a lot of people who have complimented me about how I write my stories. Of course, I am my worst critic, because I spend time reading others’ work on a subject, and I wonder why I was not able to think of the issue that way.

There once again comes the writer’s block. The worst time comes when a deadline is approaching, and the clock is ticking.  The adrenaline is flowing, but the words are not coming to mind.

I spend more times stepping away from the blank computer screen trying to think of a short concise sentence that puts a story into perspective.

Practice makes perfect as they say in the business. After 14 years in this business, you would think it would not be a problem, but it always seems to creep into my mind.

It’s not that I am worried about what I will say in the story, but will a person want to read the story after seeing the first line.

I keep a card in my wallet that is starting to fade out but it helps me out at times. It is an acronym for the word success.

It says see your goal, understand the obstacles, clear your mind of doubt, create a positive mental picture, embrace the challenge, stay on track and show the world you can do it.

When I take the time to look at the card, the story becomes clear and the words begin to flow.

I also try to use this as a path for my life, even when I am not writing a story. We all have some form of challenges in life that cause roadblocks in our life.

Some people deal with fear. Others deal with addiction, and others have some form of disorders which cause them to question what their true purpose is in life.

No one is perfect, and if you take nothing else from this column, please think about the acronym that I wrote and pray about – the roadblock in your life.

I understand, even though I have this roadblock at times when I am trying to tell a great story, that if I take a moment to pray about the story, God finds just the right words to help me out.

Pastor Rick Warren once said, “The more you pray, the less you'll panic. The more you worship, the less you worry. You'll feel more patient and less pressured.”

If you encounter a roadblock this weekend, take a moment to say a short prayer. It could be the best thing you do to get over your struggle.

Joe Elerson is a staff writer for the Athens Review. He can be reached at sportseditor@athensreview.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast