Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

July 26, 2013

Will I always procrastinate? Let’s talk about that later

Athens — I am going to tell you a secret that a lot of people don’t know about me. I tend to procrastinate about things that I really shouldn’t procrastinate about.

It’s not that I don’t want to do them – it’s just finding an excuse that I think is plausible enough to get me out of a situation that I need to get done.

In case you are not sure what it means, the Merriam-Webster dictionary refers to it as, “to put off intentionally the doing of something that should be done.”

I have numerous projects that need to be done as we approach the start of high school football in two weeks with the start of two-a-days but right now my mind is stuck on getting the less important things done first.

When I talked with my mom about doing this column and that I was procrastinating about procrastinating writing the procrastinating column, she told me that she is in the same boat as me at times.

I don’t mean to stray away from the tasks at hand, but there are times when I have intentionally put something aside that I knew had to be done.

Take for instance, me and cleaning. Those are two words that don’t fit well into my vocabulary and my parents will agree with me on this one. They will tell me to clean my house or clean my car, but what do I do?  “Oh, I will get around to it.” And two or three months later I have finally gotten around to doing it.

I know this sounds like a terrible habit and one that I should break, but my procrastinating self says, “I will get around to doing that later,” and then later becomes “Well something else has come up that I need to get done.”

If there is one thing I am terrible at is multi-tasking. I have to do everything in my power to get the first project done before I get to doing something else. If the other project is more important than the first one, I will get the least important one done first.

The American humorist Robert Benchley once said, “Anyone can do any amount of work, provided it isn’t the work he is supposed to be doing at that moment.”

I guess call me crazy, but this phrase seems to fit me perfectly, because I seem to get the work done, but not in the time frame that I need to get it done in. I tend to get up at times and talk, and then go back and finish things that work up at a later time.

It’s not because I am bored with the work, but I tend to procrastinate, thinking I will get it done at a later time, because it will still be there when I get back.

I then notice when the clock is ticking that I have intentionally put it off and it has to get done, or it won’t get done, and then the panic tends to set in.

It is easy to get off-track when we have Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pintrest and other websites in front of us on a daily basis. I know I spend a lot of time sitting in front of my computer looking at other things at home when I should be doing more important projects.

A study about procrastination on the guardian website states, “Once concentration has been broken – by checking e-mails, for instance – it takes 15 minutes to get back into the ‘work’ state of mind.”

That is probably one of my biggest demons to battle during a work day – to keep my concentration on my project that I am trying to finish. I will either check e-mail, get up to get me a Coke, forget about finishing the project because I need to go to lunch or switching to another less-daunting task.

The tasks are always going to be around us, but one thing that is for certain is that it becomes harder to get things done if you keep on procrastinating.

You know, maybe I will find a way to get over my procrastination. I’ll think about that and get back to you later.

Joe Elerson is a staff writer for the Athens Review. He can be reached at jelerson@athensreview.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion