Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

July 22, 2013

Let’s choose to cling to the good memories

GUN BARREL CITY — I attended the funeral of another friend who succumbed to cancer this week. As many funerals as I have attended lately, they are always hard. This friend, Gary Browning, was a 52-year-old man who left behind a wife and two adult children.

Gary’s family is very well known at Cedar Creek Lake. As expected, the church was packed.

I’ve known Gary and his wife, Dayna, for a while. I knew they had one of those special, one-of-a-kind relationships. You could tell how much they enjoyed each others’ company. Dayna will have plenty of good memories of Gary. I have no doubt she and Gary’s family will have Gary stories to tell for years to come.

Attending Gary’s funeral brought me back to reality.  Monday it will be two years since my husband, Jackie, died of cancer. I, like Dayna, have lots of memories and stories to tell about Jackie. One of my favorite had to do with what Jackie liked to tell people — that he was paid to marry me.

The truth is, that was kind of what happened. But Jackie just never quite told the whole story.

I was about 19 when I met Jackie. He was what my family called an older man. He was 32. My sisters all thought he was old. My father, on the other hand, thought I needed an older, mature person to take care of me. He loved Jackie.

If you have read any of my previous columns, you know I did not exactly grow up with my father. I lived in a foster home from the age of 13 until almost 18. I guess some would say I was a late life baby. My father was 50 when I was born, my mother 40. My mom passed away when I was 11 years old. That’s when I ended up in the foster home.

Back to my story about Jackie being paid to marry me. My father liked Jackie right off. The only problem he had with Jackie is he had a young daughter.  My dad would say, “Kathleen, that is a lot of years to pay child support.” He was right. But that’s part of life and Jackie has a wonderful daughter.

I keep getting off track. Remember I was 19 when I met Jackie and 20 when I married him. My father had a conversation with Jackie and told him if he would marry me he would give him $1,000. That was a lot of money back in the early ’70s. Jackie thought he was marrying a rich girl.

During this conversation I told my father, “Daddy, you don’t have to  buy me a husband.”

Unfortunately, he really believed he would die and I would have no one to take care of me.  He honestly thought I would never find anyone to marry me. I guess he didn’t have much faith in me. I can’t say I blame him. I was this 90-pound little girl. I fooled them all, I was stronger than I looked.

I don’t know if Jackie and my father actually made a deal that day or if it was just talk. I will say on our one-year anniversary my father sent Jackie, not me, a check for $1,000. I tried to tell Jackie that was probably his last $1,000. Jackie loved to tell all our friends and family my father paid him to marry me. I never really knew if that was payment or not, but needless to say, Jackie got his $1,000. 

Jackie — a laid back, calm sort of man who was always smiling — loved that story. I think it made him feel important that he was paid to marry me. True or not, I just let him think that. I believe Jackie would have married me with our without the $1,000. 

But it didn’t hurt.

After 37 years of marriage, there are plenty of funny stories and happy memories.

No matter where life takes Dayna, she will always have fond memories of Gary and their long life together. Every time I saw Gary he would put on his best Joey from the TV series “Friends” imitation and say “How you doin’?”

That’s just one of many, many good stories I’m sure will be told about a good man.

Kathi Nailling can be reached at knailling@athensreview.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament