Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

May 17, 2013

RICH FLOWERS: The Splash Pad will be an asset to Athens, not a drain

ATHENS — The long, hot, summer is about to set in and there will be plenty of dog days between now and the time the Splash Pad opens.

  Athens’ newest attraction is expected to be ready for the first swarm of eager kids around the middle of August. Ever since the news broke last fall that the pad might be in the city’s future, there has been a buzz of excitement around the city. People around town have been acting like the folks of River City in the Music Man when Harold Hill sold them on the idea of a boy’s band. I’m anxious to see the cool spray of water, even though there’s no way you’ll see me in a bathing suit, slipping and sliding down at Kiwanis Park.

 Last year, the Athens Leadership Institute took the Splash Pad on as a class project and started working to make it a reality. The Kiwanis Club, who’ve for decades operated the park where the pad will be located, was soon committed to the effort. Kiwanis Park seemed to be missing a certain element after the swimming pool closed a few years ago. Short of hooking up a sprinkler in the yard, Athens kids didn’t have many places cool down in the scorching summertime. The metal rocket at the park is hotter than a firecracker in July.  When the Kiwanis Park pool closed in 2009, smaller children, or those who didn’t know how to swim, were left with no free place to play in the water.  

  The Splash Pad idea seemed to be the perfect solution to the problem — a place where kids could play in the water, without the liabilities of a swimming pool. When the idea was presented at a Kiwanis meeting last October, I remember thinking it was a cool idea.

  Once the green light was given, fundraising for the pad got off to a quick start. Money to fund the $220,000 pad has continued to come in chunks large and small. From $67 from a girl scout troop to gifts of as much as $20,000 from area businesses, the checks keep adding up. The Kiwanis Club, ALI, the Athens Chamber of Commerce and the contributors see it as a good thing to do for the kids who’ll no doubt be watching the progress of the construction as June and July drag on.

  Even as the pad becomes closer to becoming a reality, there are a few folks who would like to throw cold water on the whole project. The drought, and the need to preserve our precious resources, have caused some to speak out about the large amount of water that will be going down the drain.

  But, officials in cities that already have splash pads in operation testify that the new water attractions are much less expensive than maintaining a pool and use a lot less water. The giant pool at Cain Center, an asset to the community to be sure, takes 270,000 gallons to maintain. A Splash Pad, with water only about an inch deep, will use much less.

  In times of drought, when the city institutes some type of water restriction, the Splash Pad can simply be turned off until rains come. In 2011, for example, the city of Enid, Okla., posted that it was closing the pad until further notice. Then, in August 2012, the city cut back on Splash Pad hours because of dry conditions.

  When it comes to water conservation, I don’t think it’s an all-or-nothing proposition. The city should use its water wisely, but not at the expense of a project that will give the next generation of Athens kids a safe, inexpensive place to beat the summer heat.

Rich Flowers is news editor for the Athens Review. He can be reached at rflowers@athensreview.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Jeff's mug.jpg Serial killers an interesting group of people

    I don’t mean to scare you - at least not for the wrong reasons.
    One of the reasons my wife, Jean and I married is that we liked many of the same things.  That includes entertainment.  And that further means, the same kind of movies.
    Many times we have found ourselves going to theaters to see Stephen King movies, such as “Carrie,” “Misery,” and the list is just too long to mention here.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction