Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

February 1, 2013

MAIL CALL: There’s no easy solution to reducing gun crime

Athens — From 1800 to December 31, 2012, there were 148 reported violent incidents in schools.

Weapons such as handguns, shotguns, rifles, knives, explosives and even a bow and arrow were used. There were nine firearm accidents. Students perpetrated 98 of the incidents.

In 10 of the cases, the perpetrators were school employees/teachers. Outsiders and unknown individuals filled in the rest.

Maybe the NRA could be correct in recommending police or screened guards at the schools. Teachers could be armed, but no one should be forced to carry a weapon. An alarm button could be installed in each classroom.

A statistic that was alarming was the number that committed suicide. A clue for the 45 suicides is the number that were taking prescription drugs. Luvox, Amitiriptyline, Thorazine, Prozac, Ritalin, Anafrenil, Valium, Paxil, Zoloft, Effexor and Lithium to name a few.

Every SSRI antidepressant sold has a FDA Black Box warning — increased rates of suicidal thinking and behavior.

Parents should have secured their weapons, and if they fail to do so, should be held responsible. Will doctors be willing to violate doctor/patient confidentiality and register patients with the Federal NIC system? HIPA will also get involved.

The Federal Assault Weapons Ban of 1994 prohibited the manufacture of certain semi-automatic firearms and high capacity magazines. FBI statistics reveal no significant decrease in assault weapon crimes.

Magazine manufacturers were restricted to 10 round magazines. Who did this hurt? Our soldiers were hurt.

They needed replacement 30- round return springs for their magazines, but the manufacturers only had 10-round springs. They enemy doesn’t have this problem.

Reducing firearm crimes and killings is not a simple solution by any means. Timely research and facts — not emotion — should be used.

Richard Koziol

Star Harbor

Is there any question

why society is so violent?

In case someone missed the film review for the movie “Resident Evil: Retribution” in the Guide section, page 17, of the Dallas Morning News last Friday, January 25, 2013, allow me to share. 

The movie is rated F (the lowest possible rating) with the following review: “This fifth entry in the series was No. 1 at the box office on its debut weekend, despite its feeble dialogue and weak acting. The violence is impersonal, gory and nonstop.”

Rated F, feeble dialogue, weak acting, violence, gory, nonstop and yet this film is No. 1 at the box office! This should not surprise, as violence on public theater screens has become prevalent in our society.                                   

We are now a society where children’s entertainment, for many, includes video games where winning is defined by how many people or creatures or things a player can kill and extra points are awarded when the killing is by the most hideous means.

All is well until violence becomes headlines with incidents of mayhem by deranged individuals in theaters, schools, and other public places. Then Hollywood, politicians in Washington D.C., much of the main stream media, and liberals everywhere rush to blame the violence on gun ownership and the availability of guns.

Our 2nd Amendment rights are again under attack from all the noisemakers mentioned above.  One only needs to study the historical cycle involving democracy and tyranny to realize that we give up these rights at our own peril.  

I believe the greatest change in our society over the last 60 years is its moral decay, where elements of instant gratification, anything goes, something for nothing, you owe me and I want it free and forever has become a way of life for far too many.  Could this be a contributing cause of today’s violence?  

Sixty years ago, we did not have these frequent incidents of public violence when gun ownership was as common as it is today.

Bud Henry

Trinidad

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success