Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

April 25, 2014

Maurice Cheeks – True ‘Playmakers’ never die

Athens — Beginning with the 1978 season, Maurice Cheeks played 15 years as a point guard in the NBA, including 11 years with the Philadelphia 76ers.

He earned four trips to the NBA All-Star game, and he helped the 76ers earn three trips to the NBA Finals in a four-year span, including one NBA championship in 1983.

At the time of his retirement from the NBA in 1993, Cheeks was ranked fifth all-time in assists. But his greatest assist may not have come as a player, but as a coach.

In 2003, Maurice Cheeks was the head coach of the Portland Trailblazers. On April 25 of that same year, the Trailblazers were matched against the Dallas Mavericks. Just before the tip-off, like in every NBA contest, someone was scheduled to sing the National Anthem. It just so happened that someone was 13-year-old Natalie Gilbert, who had been voted on by the fans in a local talent contest.

Miss Gilbert began the song in great fashion, confident and on key. But as she approached the fourth line of the song, which reads, “At the twilight’s last gleaming,” something strange and unexpected happened. Young Natalie Gilbert, who I am sure was quite overwhelmed with excitement and nervousness, forgot the words.

As Miss Gilbert stood there in shock, an uneasiness came over the crowd as they felt her pain and embarrassment.

But suddenly, like he had done for 15 years as a player, Maurice Cheeks handed out yet another assist, as he rushed over to the young girl, and began to sing with her.

With his arm draped over her shoulder, the two finished the song together as the entire Rose Garden arena crowd sang with them.

Upon finishing the song, both Cheeks and Gilbert received a standing ovation from the crowd.

Sometimes in life, we all need a friend like Maurice Cheeks, someone who will stand by us, put their arm around us, and help us find the right words.

As America faces these current times of uncertainty, we are to be that for each other and the hurting world around us. Our greatest testimony doesn’t always come in the words we say, but instead, in the actions we take.

Dave Davlin is a professional speaker who resides in San Antonio, Texas. He received a degree in secondary education from Texas A&M University. He is a former halftime performer for NBA teams and in 1990 set a Guinness World record for simultaneously spinning twelve basketballs on his body at the same time. He now speaks to organizations nationwide on the subjects of life skills and increasing personal and organizational performance. Dave can be contacted by email at dave@davedavlin.com or bookings@allthingsspeaking.com and by mail at 23242 Bison Canyon, San Antonio, Texas 78261.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Jeff's mug.jpg Serial killers an interesting group of people

    I don’t mean to scare you - at least not for the wrong reasons.
    One of the reasons my wife, Jean and I married is that we liked many of the same things.  That includes entertainment.  And that further means, the same kind of movies.
    Many times we have found ourselves going to theaters to see Stephen King movies, such as “Carrie,” “Misery,” and the list is just too long to mention here.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction