Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

June 25, 2013

A responsible position during a bad year worked out fine

CEDAR CREEK LAKE — A short year ago I became President of the Rotary Club of Cedar Creek Lake. Today, I will be presiding over my last meeting. A new president, Mike Groom, will take the helm on July 1.

When I was asked to take over the duties as President of the Rotary, I had my reservations. I was coming out of a very difficult year. My husband had passed away six months earlier. My son, only 37 years-old was having heart problems. My job duties had also changed. I moved from the Cedar Creek Pilot to the Athens Review. 

I felt I had too much on my plate. I could never do justice to the club as its president.  I never would want to hurt the club. My being president may have not been the best idea.

I joined the Cedar Creek Lake  Rotary Club when I was General Manager of the Cedar Creek Pilot.  I wanted to be a member of one of the civic clubs at the lake. I didn't know too much about any of them. They are very important and provide needed services for kids and residents of Henderson County.

I can't tell you how many people ask  me, “What does the Rotary Club do?”

For those who still  don't know what we do, we are a community civic organization. We give back to our communities, as well as  support international projects. The Rotary International has almost single-handidly stamped out polio.

Polio is not totally eradicated, but it is within our grasp. Rotary International, along with the Bill Gates Foundation had a mission –  to see a global eradication of polio.

The club also supports our local entities. We provide college scholarships, give away books in local school districts, buy clothes for children, support the libraries and give money to the food pantry.  Our club also helps bring exchange students to our area.

Those are just a few of the things the Cedar Creek Lake Rotary Club sponsors or promotes. Each year the Rotary Club gives somewhere around $35,000 back to it's community.

The reason I picked the Rotary over other clubs was because of the day they held their  meetings, which was Friday.  Friday was my easy day at the Pilot. The paper was completed and I had time to leave and not worry about how long I was gone.

It didn't hurt that a member of the Rotary Club, Charles Moore, had been asking me for a while to come to his Rotary meeting.

Again, the timing was not right. When Charles was insisting I come visit, I was in the middle of being treated for breast cancer.  I did finally go to Rotary as Charles' guest. And I was glad I did. As they say, the rest is history.

I have been a member of the club now for about nine years. I have held a number of offices including secretary, bulletin chairperson and publicity chairperson. I always try to volunteer for committees to help with fundraisers. Fundraising is important in an organization like the Rotary.

If you are going to be a member of an organization it's important to be a part of the group.  Not sure where those nine years have gone.

To be a good president of anything, you have to have good people behind you. That's what I had.  I had good members of the Rotary Club.

Most of the members of the Rotary Club knew I was just coming out of a very bad year. They all stepped up to make my job easier.

It's hard to believe it has already been a year since that first dreaded meeting I chaired. The year, like past years, has flown by. I feel proud of what the Rotary Club accomplished during my year as President.

With all this said and done, it has been a great year. I can't say I will miss being president, but it sure wasn't as bad as I had anticipated. The members of the club made my year successful. 

Now just one more thing to do. Mike Groom, I hope you accomplish everything you want during your year as president.

Kathi Nailling is a Staff Writer for the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong