Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

June 17, 2013

Thank our civil servants every chance you get

Athens — Recently, the news has been plentiful with items about catastrophes. For instance, there was the West, Texas, fertilizer plant explosion. 

There were also the district attorney’s office killings in Kaufman County and the explosion at the Boston Marathon. And, the list goes on.

Actually, recent events are really no different than any other day.  There are always catastrophic events that we do not hear about.  The reason is that different levels of news media will print or air those events in which the most people are involved or the people in the highest positions are involved.

And in journalism school, you are taught that the more deaths involved, the more readership there is inherent in a news story.  They believe that you could put the garden club at the top of the front page in huge headline type, and then put a story on the bottom of the page with the headline reading that 10 people were killed in an event (in very small headline type) and the attraction would be to the bottom story.

But, whether it is a  national story or one that didn’t even make the press, yet did show up on the police blotter, there are those who risk everything for the betterment of society.

The groups I am referring to are the firefighters and the law enforcement personnel of any community.

Even if a police officer has gone into a strange house with no one in it, searching for a possible suspect, they didn’t know that there wasn’t someone in it who was armed and ready to use their weapons.

If a firefighter combats a blaze, they never really know for sure if there is an explosive device or chemicals involved which are destined to explode. Nor do they know if people are in a blaze and need their help.

Such was the case recently in Houston, when four firefighters were killed fighting a fire at a motel on the southwest side of town. I told me wife that the young woman who died was born just 13 days before our wedding 25 years ago. It really strikes a cord about how young she was to be so brave.

I remember my father, who spent almost 30 years as a firefighter, before he retired at Lackland Air Force Base in San Antonio. He was employed as a federal employee at various U.S. Air Force bases, with the longest run being at James Connally Air Force Base near Waco.

It was then that I was a student at LaVega Independent School District in Bellmead. I played football games for four years there, and I believe my father maybe attended three games the entire time.

It was just a matter of his career of helping other people in emergency situations taking over a large part of his life, and in essence, a large part of his family’s life.

That’s the way it is with firefighters and law enforcement and some other careers. When you are needed, it’s not just the flip of a coin. You are truly needed.

And in some occupations, the family must be as independent as possible.

I so appreciate the things that society’s helpers sacrifice to protect our lives.

I know it’s not National Police Appreciation Week or National Firefighters Appreciation Week, but I do believe we should do that every week — every day!

It doesn’t matter what holiday or occasion exists.  Thank our law enforcement and firefighters as often as you possibly can. 

If you were to need one of them within the next five minutes, you would understand their importance, if you don’t already.

They are there to help us, and to keep us safe.

Thanks to all those who risk their lives for a better society.

Jeff Riggs is associate editor of the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest