Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

June 17, 2013

Thank our civil servants every chance you get

Athens — Recently, the news has been plentiful with items about catastrophes. For instance, there was the West, Texas, fertilizer plant explosion. 

There were also the district attorney’s office killings in Kaufman County and the explosion at the Boston Marathon. And, the list goes on.

Actually, recent events are really no different than any other day.  There are always catastrophic events that we do not hear about.  The reason is that different levels of news media will print or air those events in which the most people are involved or the people in the highest positions are involved.

And in journalism school, you are taught that the more deaths involved, the more readership there is inherent in a news story.  They believe that you could put the garden club at the top of the front page in huge headline type, and then put a story on the bottom of the page with the headline reading that 10 people were killed in an event (in very small headline type) and the attraction would be to the bottom story.

But, whether it is a  national story or one that didn’t even make the press, yet did show up on the police blotter, there are those who risk everything for the betterment of society.

The groups I am referring to are the firefighters and the law enforcement personnel of any community.

Even if a police officer has gone into a strange house with no one in it, searching for a possible suspect, they didn’t know that there wasn’t someone in it who was armed and ready to use their weapons.

If a firefighter combats a blaze, they never really know for sure if there is an explosive device or chemicals involved which are destined to explode. Nor do they know if people are in a blaze and need their help.

Such was the case recently in Houston, when four firefighters were killed fighting a fire at a motel on the southwest side of town. I told me wife that the young woman who died was born just 13 days before our wedding 25 years ago. It really strikes a cord about how young she was to be so brave.

I remember my father, who spent almost 30 years as a firefighter, before he retired at Lackland Air Force Base in San Antonio. He was employed as a federal employee at various U.S. Air Force bases, with the longest run being at James Connally Air Force Base near Waco.

It was then that I was a student at LaVega Independent School District in Bellmead. I played football games for four years there, and I believe my father maybe attended three games the entire time.

It was just a matter of his career of helping other people in emergency situations taking over a large part of his life, and in essence, a large part of his family’s life.

That’s the way it is with firefighters and law enforcement and some other careers. When you are needed, it’s not just the flip of a coin. You are truly needed.

And in some occupations, the family must be as independent as possible.

I so appreciate the things that society’s helpers sacrifice to protect our lives.

I know it’s not National Police Appreciation Week or National Firefighters Appreciation Week, but I do believe we should do that every week — every day!

It doesn’t matter what holiday or occasion exists.  Thank our law enforcement and firefighters as often as you possibly can. 

If you were to need one of them within the next five minutes, you would understand their importance, if you don’t already.

They are there to help us, and to keep us safe.

Thanks to all those who risk their lives for a better society.

Jeff Riggs is associate editor of the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success