Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

February 6, 2014

Filtering my mouth would not be a bad thing

CEDAR CREEK LAKE — Cedar Creek Lake is the fourth largest lake in Texas. The lake is one of the few lakes in Texas that allows private docks and boathouses.  The lake has 32 acres and 320 miles of shoreline for  great fishing, boating, water skiing and other fun water sports. Who wouldn't  want to visit the lake on the weekend?

I recently made the mistake of referring to people who come to Cedar Creek Lake for weekend fun as “weekenders.” I personally did not understand that what I had said may be wrong.  But then again, I am not a weekender.

It all started very innocently. I was having a conversation with a person whom I met through the Cedar Creek Lake Area Chamber of Commerce. She and her husband are very involved in the lake-area civic scene.

Since becoming part of the Chamber of Commerce,  this couple has contributed a lot to our community. I don't take it lightly – They have made great efforts to make Cedar Creek Lake a better place.

We were talking about how our community relies so much on weekend traffic. Or, in my term “Weekenders.” 

My comment was, “We need to find something else to drive our economy, other than the lake and weekenders.”

I only said that because two out of the last three years, we have been in a drought. No one could  get their boats on the lake. It made for a miserable summer.  We love the lake, but it’s not much fun when it dries up.

 Most of our the businesses believe that the weekend traffic during the summer months is what keeps them afloat all year.  I believed that is true for some businesses, but not for all.

I hurt this woman's feeling so bad, she had tears in her eyes, because I referred to people with lake houses as “Weekenders.” Truthfully, I didn't even know this  couple was ever considered weekenders.

 She told me she took offense to the term, because she has been referred to as a “weekender.”  I felt bad. She told me they split their time between Dallas and Cedar Creek Lake. That's not exactly what I consider a  weekender.

When I use the term, “weekender,” I mean a person who comes down on Friday or Saturday, and leaves on Sunday. The normal weekender has a weekend house at Cedar Creek Lake. They live within a  1 to 2-hour drive, and are here only for the lake atmosphere. As most call it, it’s “a weekend get away.”

Of course, the weekend population does contribute to the local economy. I also believe most people here for the weekend go straight to their lake houses, and don't leave until they return home. They are here for the lake.

Being a weekender is not a bad thing. I would love to have a second home for a weekend getaway.

I have lived in the lake area for over 30 years, and I am still considered an outsider. It doesn't really hurt my feelings. That's just the way it is. I wasn't born here, didn't attend school or grow up in this area.

People from Cedar Creek are very proud of their roots. That’s especially true to those who were here before the lake. And they will tell you how it was before Cedar Creek Lake. 

I still believe the cities at Cedar Creek Lake need to come up with a plan for when the lake levels are low. But for the near future, we still depend on the weekenders to keep us thriving. And we appreciate their contribution to our little community.

My conversation with this couple was not intended to hurt anyone's feelings. 

Lange Svehlak, Publisher of the Athens Review, says “I need a filter on my mouth.”

My problem is a thought enters my mind, and out my mouth it goes.

Please accept this as my apology for anyone I may have offended. There may be many,  with my unfiltered mouth.

Kathi Nailling is a Staff Writer for the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest