Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

October 1, 2012

Everyday of our lives, there are good and bad things

Athens — I have said this before and I feel the need to say it once again. I love working for newspapers. You wake up in a different world every day – Sometimes good and sometimes, lets just say, not so good.

Each week when I think things could not get worse, they do. But always something happens that makes everything right in the world. A little dramatic, but you get the jest.

This past week started out on a very sad note. Two teenagers from Kemp were killed in a car accident. No matter how bad our lives get, nothing can ever prepare you for losing your child.

You expect to lose parents, friends and maybe even siblings. Not your child. Like so many in our community, my heart and prayers go out to the families and friends of these two young men. May God shine down on you during your time of sorrow.

That accident happened on Sunday. By Monday, things just kept happening.

On Monday, a house fire in Gun Barrel City claimed the life of one man.  If you know this man's family, I understand he was uninsured, and they sure can use some help.

What made that story even worse was that it happen to be the third fire in the lake area in less than 24 hours. The men and  women who volunteer for the local fire departments should be given medals for what they do. At least, when you see one of the volunteers out in the community, just say thank you.

Tuesday evening Mabank City catches on fire. Okay not the entire city but a 100-year-old building in downtown Mabank goes up in flames. What is so tragic about this is the part of the city’s history was lost due to this fire.  According to Mayor Larry Teague the city has lost 11 or 12 buildings in the lasts decade because of fires. What a great loss for the town of Mabank.

Each time a building is lost the city loses some of it's historical value. I hope someone is documenting this for future generations.

On to the good news. I received a phone call from a friend I have known for about 15 years. My friend, Sharon, breeds Yorkie puppies. She has been breeding these precious little puppies for a number of years.

Sharon heard I went to visit a church last Sunday, and a young boy told the congregation his dog had died. It was quite sad.

The good part was he also said his parents said he could get a Yorkie puppy. With that, the young man sounded a bit happier.

Sharon called to tell me she would like to donate a puppy to this young man. How nice is that? If you know anything about Yorkies, they can be expensive.

Sharon said she just wonder what she could do to make someone's day a little brighter, and thought about the story of the little boy who lost his dog.  She doesn't know the family of the young man. She had just heard about the young man from the church on Wednesday.

Just when you want to ask God why there is so much tragedy, He sends you a message to let you know not all is lost. There are still good things to come.

Wouldn't it be great if we all just woke up and said, “Today I am going to make one person happy.” 

If only for a day, I want to brighten someone's life. It could be as simple as a visit to a sick person, or someone in a nursing home who rarely gets visitors.

Maybe you just want to do some volunteer work at one of the different organizations in our community.

Next time I feel overwhelmed by my own life, I will take Sharon's lead, and just do something to make someone else’s life a little brighter. 

In return, my life will feel brighter.

Kathi Nailling is a Staff Writer for the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion