Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

October 4, 2012

I need for all this woman’s friends to help me apologize

Athens — I need a favor. Yes, from you. I should be humble today, all things  considered.

Here's the deal. I need for all friends of Carolyn Tumlinson to help me apologize to her.

I'd do it myself, but I just stood her up for lunch, and she's defriending me.

Carolyn, as you know, has 5,478 friends who rank in her top five friends on earth. We all love being in the top five, and Carolyn really does love us all.

But I fell out of her  Top 5,478 today.

I have now, according to the 12 sticky notes left on my computer screen when I got back from lunch with employee Rich Flowers, been relegated to Tumlinson hell.

I say that because, Hell hath no fury like a Carolyn scorned.

While sitting in this office, undoubtedly with increasing impatience, she said on her stickies, “Waiting!”

Followed by:

• 10 minutes have passed!

•   I'm starting to cry!”

•  Thought we were friends! Best friends!

•  I'm starving!

•   30 minutes and no Art!

•  I'm crying again!

•  Hope you enjoyed your lunch!

•  Feeling abused!

•  I'm deleting you from Facebook!

•  Did you forget me? (Duh);

•  Where are you?

•   Well, (expletive deleted).!!!

I'm guessing by now you're a little peeved with me, too. That's good. Take that. Use it. Embrace it. Wrap your arms around Carolyn, and hate on me together.

When the Good Lord was passing out memories way back in the 1940s he gave me a very good long-term memory. Go ahead, ask me who the defensive back was for Oklahoma back in 1957, who got blocked, allowing Notre Dame to score the touchdown heard 'round the universe, breaking the Sooners' 47-game winning streak.

  It was Carl Dodd. I know lots of that useless stuff.

Now ask me what I had for breakfast this morning?

Couldn't tell you if you had a gun at my head. You'd have to shoot me.

We're talking figuratively here, Carolyn.

Yes, it's true, I did send her a message about 11 a.m., telling her I was good to go at noon. She was going to stop by the paper and fetch me.

I hung up, and felt a pang in my stomach.  I was  unknowingly vulnerable when Rich (this is all his fault) Flowers said “Lets go to Jaliscos.”

Like a windup doll, I got up, marched out the door, ate sour-cream chicken enchiladas, talked about UT's mighty challenge with West Virginia coming up, drove back, and walked in the front door.

Several normally friendly women here at the paper, stood there with arms folded, and stoic expressions on their faces 

“Oh look, somebody's left me a bunch of notes,” I  said foolishly.

In unison now. “I  guess you do. You stood Carolyn up, you, you, you...”

I immediately called, and left Ms. Tumlinson a crawl-on-the-floor apology by phone. Then on Facebook. Now in my column.

I seem to have no control over this inexplicable weakness, because I never have any idea when it's going to rise up, and bite me in the bohunkus, and irritate the people I love most.

So, to the City of Athens,  Henderson County, the Good Lord, Gov. Perry, President Obama and my mama down in Kingsland, I am very sorry for standing up Carolyn Tumlinson for lunch Wednesday — especially since she was planning to pick up the check.

I've been in Athens for a dozen years now, and I've never met a nicer, kinder-hearted, funny, full of life and other things, person than Carolyn Tumlinson.

So when you see her — and  you will, because she's out there  — provide  her with some group therapy, and hate on me together.

You'll feel better. I'm sure I will, too.

Art Lawler is a Staff Writer for the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge