Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

April 28, 2014

Victory is mine!

Athens — On any given night, anything can happen on the field in a sporting event.

That is what makes sports entertaining.

That is what makes reporting them crazy.

For instance, when I was the sports editor for the Waxahachie Daily Light, my brother was scheduled to graduate college the same night Waxahachie High was to play against Mesquite Poteet in the district finale.

Poteet entered the contest on a 59-game win streak in district play, including a victory over Hachie earlier in the season.

On paper, Poteet was the clear favorite as the Pirates had already locked up the district title.

However, when you cross those railroad tracks and enter Richards Park, anything can happen.

Waxahachie topped Poteet, 4-3, to snap the state's longest running streak of district wins at the time.

I missed the game.

Yes, I had a reporter there.

Yes, I did the right thing by attending my brother's college graduation.

But wow, what a game.

In sports, victory is never a sure thing.

Countless No. 1 seeds have been bounced in the first round of the NCAA basketball tournament, while top seeds in every sport tend to let their fan base down year-after-year in the playoffs.

The Texas Rangers were one strike away from winning the World Series, only to see something so simple be so hard to accomplish.

We face a tougher battle.

Day-in and day-out we are faced with circumstances that bring us down. Circumstances that can defeat us.

With great joy comes times of great trial, but victory is never in doubt.

“But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain,” 1 Corinthians 15:57-58, NIV.

When we surrender to God, proclaiming him as Lord, we have the victory.

The victory is ours no matter how we feel, what the situation looks like or the obstacles ahead.

Trailing 10-0 in the bottom of the ninth inning does not give a baseball team much hope of coming back. In the life of a believer, we can come back from insurmountable odds, because the victory is ours. But we must believe.

The keys have been given to us. We can unlock any door. But we must act. We must claim the victory that has been presented to us.

Are you chained by depression? Alcohol? Selfishness? Cancer?

The victory is yours. Claim it.

My wife faced her first battle with cancer when she was 26-years-old. Two years later it was back.

We never gave up. We always believed God had a plan for our lives, for her life.

Together we battled through the adversity, the feelings and the uncertainty of the future.

Now, we have a perfectly-healthy baby girl who we never dreamed would exist just a few years ago.

Victory is yours. It is not in doubt.

If you trust in Jesus Christ as Lord, you have victory – end of story.

The next time you face a tough situation, take a page from the cheerleaders......

Grab that V,

Now dot that I,

And grab that c-t-o-r-y

Victory!

Chad Wilson is Editor of the Athens Daily Review.  You can e-mail him through editor@athensreview.com

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating