Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

April 4, 2014

Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

Athens — Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”

With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

No matter what type of music we are listening to, whether it be rock, pop, Christian, country, rap, techno, classical, opera or numerous other types of music, we can always find the style that is right for us.

I know when I have no idea what I want to write about, or if I need to focus on a task at hand, as soon as I turn on my music, my creative juices start flowing, and I do some of my best work.

I have enjoyed different types of music since I was born as an ‘80s rock kid. I would go to concert at a very young age seeing rock bands like Poison, Warrant, Guns N’ Roses, Metallica and listening to albums and tapes of my favorite bands.

When I went to kindergarten, I was the kid with the rat tail and a blue-jean jacket with a big rock band patch on the back of it, proud to be wearing that jacket.

I still listening to those bands to this day, and have a CD collection of nearly 200 CDs, or digital music compilations that I listen to throughout the week.

I am the one that will have the tunes up loud, and enjoy singing along to the songs I am listening to, if I am in my car or at my house.

My personal favorites are classic rock, current rock bands and Christian bands. You will hardly ever hear me listening to country music.

That does not mean that I do not like that type of music, but it is just not one that I see myself listening to on a daily basis.

I remember going to lots of festival-type concerts where you would spend between four hours or a whole day getting to see between 10-to-20 bands, and enjoying different styles during the shows.

I think one of the greatest things about music is that you can learn a lot about a person by what they listen to when you are talking with them.

It is awesome when you can mention a musical group that you like, and they have the same feeling about that band.

I know anytime I can put on my headphones, and listen to my music, is a time when I feel at-ease, and ready to tackle any project in front of me.

I have even had the opportunity in the past when I was a member of the Eastern Hills Church of Christ here in Athens, that I would listen to Christian songs to help me with a lesson that I was teaching the youth group.

Those were times when I felt like bands like Mercy Me or other Christian bands could deliver the words better than I could. That would usually be the opening to a lesson plan that I would give, either for a single night, or for a series of lessons during a summer.

I know, now that I am in my 30s, that I appreciate music a lot more than I did in my younger years. I can now figure out what styles I really enjoy listening to, and what music will help me get in a zone to work on my projects.

I think Bono, the singer of the band U2, said it best when he said, “Music can change the world, because it can change people.”

I hope whatever music you are listening to is one that can change you for the better and not for the worse.

I know what I listen to hopefully makes me a better person, since I try to see the good in everyone that I encounter.

Enjoy the day, and listen to your favorite tune.

It might just bring a smile to your face on a gloomy day.

Joe Elerson is a staff writer for the Athens Review. He can be reached at jelerson@athensreview.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue