Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

April 4, 2014

Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

Athens — Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”

With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

No matter what type of music we are listening to, whether it be rock, pop, Christian, country, rap, techno, classical, opera or numerous other types of music, we can always find the style that is right for us.

I know when I have no idea what I want to write about, or if I need to focus on a task at hand, as soon as I turn on my music, my creative juices start flowing, and I do some of my best work.

I have enjoyed different types of music since I was born as an ‘80s rock kid. I would go to concert at a very young age seeing rock bands like Poison, Warrant, Guns N’ Roses, Metallica and listening to albums and tapes of my favorite bands.

When I went to kindergarten, I was the kid with the rat tail and a blue-jean jacket with a big rock band patch on the back of it, proud to be wearing that jacket.

I still listening to those bands to this day, and have a CD collection of nearly 200 CDs, or digital music compilations that I listen to throughout the week.

I am the one that will have the tunes up loud, and enjoy singing along to the songs I am listening to, if I am in my car or at my house.

My personal favorites are classic rock, current rock bands and Christian bands. You will hardly ever hear me listening to country music.

That does not mean that I do not like that type of music, but it is just not one that I see myself listening to on a daily basis.

I remember going to lots of festival-type concerts where you would spend between four hours or a whole day getting to see between 10-to-20 bands, and enjoying different styles during the shows.

I think one of the greatest things about music is that you can learn a lot about a person by what they listen to when you are talking with them.

It is awesome when you can mention a musical group that you like, and they have the same feeling about that band.

I know anytime I can put on my headphones, and listen to my music, is a time when I feel at-ease, and ready to tackle any project in front of me.

I have even had the opportunity in the past when I was a member of the Eastern Hills Church of Christ here in Athens, that I would listen to Christian songs to help me with a lesson that I was teaching the youth group.

Those were times when I felt like bands like Mercy Me or other Christian bands could deliver the words better than I could. That would usually be the opening to a lesson plan that I would give, either for a single night, or for a series of lessons during a summer.

I know, now that I am in my 30s, that I appreciate music a lot more than I did in my younger years. I can now figure out what styles I really enjoy listening to, and what music will help me get in a zone to work on my projects.

I think Bono, the singer of the band U2, said it best when he said, “Music can change the world, because it can change people.”

I hope whatever music you are listening to is one that can change you for the better and not for the worse.

I know what I listen to hopefully makes me a better person, since I try to see the good in everyone that I encounter.

Enjoy the day, and listen to your favorite tune.

It might just bring a smile to your face on a gloomy day.

Joe Elerson is a staff writer for the Athens Review. He can be reached at jelerson@athensreview.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Roadblocks happen - find a way to power through them

    You ever had writer’s block? Everyone gets it once in a while, especially journalists.
    Charles Bukowski once said, “Writing about a writer's block is better than not writing at all.”
    People always ask “how do you come up with your ideas?” Those are easy when it comes to writing sports, finding the right way to make it intriguing at the start is when it can get interesting.

    June 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg The events of 2014 have set a brisk pace

    This will be my last column before the year 2014 reaches its midway point, and I’ve got to say it’s been a challenge to keep up with everything going on in the county.
    It always is, of course. Henderson County has almost 80,000 people, two major lakes,  and if I counted right, 18 incorporated cities and town. Athens, is a small city, but three major highways cut through it. It’s the seat of county government and the site of three district courts.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment