Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Breaking News

Opinion

May 11, 2013

JOE ELERSON: I’m still amazed at the superhuman feats of mothers

Athens — This Sunday marks another day where we give special attention to the mothers in our lives for all they have done to make us the men and women that we are today.

Yes, it is not too late if you forgot that Mother’s Day is right around the corner.

If you are planning on getting her roses, you are probably too late for that one. And if your mother says she doesn’t want anything, you should probably get her something anyway.

This is one holiday that, I will be honest, I am not very good at in terms of honoring my parents for everything they have done for me.

According to Wikipedia, the modern holiday of Mother’s Day was first celebrated in 1908 when Anna Jarvis held a memorial for her mother in Grafton, West Virginia. She then began a campaign to make “Mother’s Day” a recognized holiday in the United States.

Jarvis’ holiday was adopted by other countries and it is now celebrated all over the world.

I think Rudyard Kipling said it best when he said, “God could not be everywhere, and therefore he made mothers.”

I know for a fact that God knew what he was doing when he made my mother because she has all the qualities that a Godly mother should have.

I must admit that my mother — who has put up with a lot from me in the 30 years I have been alive — is one of the best mothers I could every have in my life.

When I was a little kid and trying to play sports — which I was not very good at but tried my hardest — she would always be in the stands cheering me on to do my best.

When I was an actor in grade school and in community theatre she would be in the audience supporting me during my performances.

You always hear people say they are a momma’s boy and I can definitely relate to that phrase.

I would do anything for my mother because she has done so much for me to make me into the man I am today.

During my difficult stretch in life, my mother was the rock that kept me going to improve and learn from the mistakes I had made in my life.

She also is a very funny lady and I always remember my friends talking about how funny she was in school.

I also remember all of my friends being jealous of me because of how cool my mother is and wishing their moms were like my mother.

I can also say that my sister is an amazing mother to her two kids and she learned a lot from how my mother treated us during our childhood.

She supported us in all of the different areas that we work hard at during our childhood so that we could make her proud to be her children.

Also, it amazes me at times when mothers in general can handle so many different tasks that they are faced with during a day.

If it comes to dealing with getting kids ready for school, getting themselves ready for work, spending time working a full- time job and still finding time to relax at the end of a day, they are like the Energizer bunny.

I will never figure out how they can have the stamina to do that every day. I guess God made a special way for women to find the energy even when they say they can’t handle a certain task.

But one thing I do know is our mothers are very special women and this Sunday is a day for them to relax and enjoy the fruits of their labor.

To all of the mothers out there, Happy Mother’s Day and may you be treated with the respect you deserve on this special day.

Joe Elerson is a staff writer for the Athens Daily Review. He can be reached at jelerson@athensreview.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Wilson mug.JPG Rolling into something new

    She did it.
    My baby girl rolled over for the first time this past week while daddy and mommy were watching closely.
    As other major news broke across the county, watching my baby roll over for the first time was by far the biggest news of the week for me. Odd.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage