Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

January 28, 2013

Fathers are making a difference, one way or another

Athens — Maybe you caught the story this week in our paper regarding the death of Tony Douglas.

If you live in Athens, know anything about Texas country music or like fresh produce sold with a smile, you’ve probably heard of him. I had the pleasure — and I truly mean pleasure — of writing Mr. Douglas’ front-page obituary on Wednesday.

Over my career, I’ve grown fond of writing about those who have died. Truthfully, it’s one of the harder things we do as journalists, picking up the phone or meeting in person to ask questions of a family member or friend who is no doubt working through the early stages of grief.

And when that task is done, we find ourselves with the near-impossible task of trying to boil down an entire life into a few hundred words.

I’ve not had a harder time doing the latter than I did with Mr. Douglas. Fitting his storied country music career into a small box would have been tough enough. But then I talked to his family, and I know now that even when I finish this piece, I’ll have still not done justice to who Tony Douglas was as the father, husband and spiritual leader of his household.

I met with Mr. Douglas’ three children on Wednesday afternoon. Over a span of about 30 minutes, they took turns telling stories about their father. They laughed, and at other times, sat quietly, holding back tears.

I shared just a few of those recollections in our Thursday edition. I won’t circle all the way back and rehash all that information now, but from the mouths of his own children, he was a tough disciplinarian who didn’t bend when it came to issues of character or integrity — his own, or that of those in his circle.

That steadfast character was dwarfed only by the love and selfless commitment he had for his kids and for Mim, his wife of nearly 64 years. As has been well-chronicled, he passed on a contract offer with the Grand Ole Opry because he didn’t want to move his family to Nashville. Some have said that decision hurt his chances at becoming a much bigger country music star.

As I listened to Douglas’ now-grown children tell their stories, I couldn’t help but think about how rare a thing they possess. It was something I never had growing up, having never met my biological father.

In September 2011, I learned the man who I had always thought was my father (who lives in California), in fact, wasn’t. I got the paternity test results back on a Friday night in Bullard, Texas, as I sat in a press box and waited to cover the Athens Hornets football game.

I’ll never forget how numb I felt that night. Truth be told, I’m still a little numb. Maybe the fact that I can’t even remember if I’ve ever written about this proves it.

Needless to say, some things leave a lasting impression. You can move on, get over it or be bitter about it, but that’s just the way life is sometimes.

Having given up the notion of ever finding my real father, I’ve coped through my faith in God and the gift that He’s given me — namely, an opportunity to be the father to my two children that I never had.

You see, I’m a big “legacy” guy. I believe broken homes give rise to more broken homes. Children who are abused often become parents who abuse. Sons who see their fathers walk away often become fathers who don’t stay.

Such legacies are hard to shake. They stick to generation after generation like napalm — never killing, but burning painful holes through the layers of a family and leaving scars in its wake.

Legacies are why parents who earn college degrees are more likely to have children who earn college degrees. They’re also why the same last names appear in the police reports for decades.

I can only hope and pray my fatherless legacy dies with me, and that my son, and his son, and his son, will know nothing different than men who fight for what they believe in and for the ones they love.

Then maybe when I’m gone, my kids will sit around and talk about how their dad was tough, but how he loved like nobody they’ve known before or since. I hope the laughter and tears that accompany those stories form the foundation of a new legacy.

A legacy like the one Tony Douglas left behind Tuesday.

Jayson Larson is editor of the Athens Review. Reach him at editor@athensreview.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Joe new mug.jpg Fanfare is a time to prepare for another season

    I love to see the talent our student athletes have across Henderson County. To know that each player puts in the blood, sweat and tears to play for a district championship and hopefully a state title is something special to see.
    Another great in the world of sports is a player who is retiring this season in New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter.
    Jeter once said, “There may be people who have more talent than you, but there's no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do — and I believe that.”

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg The greatest country in the world has hungry children

    No child should go hungry. We are the greatest country in the world, yet we have hungry children.
    An article I recently read said that if a child in school can't afford lunch, they will be given a sandwich and water. I was told the sandwich is cheese between two pieces of bread.
    I hope everyone realizes that is what they serve in the county jail. Not that I know this from personal experience. I was told from someone who did know from experience.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase

    Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase.
    Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze.
    It means no worries for the rest of your days.
    It's our problem-free philosophy.
    Hakuna Matata!
    Congratulations, if you have watched the Lion King a couple of times you now have this song stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg It was a week in the depth of heat, then cooler

    Sunday and Monday of this week have been very uncomfortable.  The air conditioner at our house has been down, and the temperature outside and in the house have been way up.
    Thank God for the blessing of the cool temperatures and the rain that fell on Tuesday, then on Wednesday.  It changed things just a little bit.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Time away is necessary for everyone

    I can remember as a kid writing essays on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation.” As the years pass, and we are more in-tune with the workplace, those vacations get shorter and shorter.
    Do you ever have those days  when you just need a vacation? Sometimes you just need to get away.
    Taking time off work should be fun and rejuvenating. We all need a recharge every now and then. But vacations aren't what they use to be. We rarely disconnect ourselves from our jobs.

    July 12, 2014

  • Joe new mug.jpg Student athletes: Time to wake up and get to work

    Hey student athletes, it is about time for you to wake up and get to work.
    Your summer is coming to an end, and the early morning wake up calls for practices are right around the corner.
    I am talking to the football players, volleyball players, cross country kids, band members, drill team members and cheerleaders.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Remember who you are

    Are you running so fast that you have forgotten why you started the race in the first place?
    Life moving at a blistering pace that it is tough to keep up?
    Maybe it is time to stop, take a deep look into the pool of water and remember. Remember who you are.
    On numerous occasions, I have had to do just that. Ironically, various movies have caused me to look inside.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg CSUMC provided a memorable experience

    My wife Jean and I went to a very interesting, and what I consider a very unique event last Saturday night.
    I had heard that the church where we are members, Carroll Springs United Methodist Church, was having an event in which people sitting in the audience would sing their favorite hymns into a microphone.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rich mug.jpg Independence ultimately won on battlefield

    I always enjoy celebrating Independence Day, and hearing some of the stirring words written in the Declaration of Independence.
    Thomas Jefferson wrote that our Creator has given us certain rights, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. The way I see it, if I have life and liberty, that gives me a pretty good start on the third one.
    But as eloquent as our founding fathers were, and how moving the texts they left behind, one fact can’t be overlooked. Our independence was ultimately won and secured on the battlefield.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg 22 years – and they said it wouldn’t last

    I was a high school senior when I first entered the world of newspapers.
    I found my way to the The Dallas Times Herald after graduation, when a number of kids I went to school with were working part-time at the paper.
    It was summer, and I needed a job. I first applied for what was referred to as the night crew.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman