Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

July 6, 2012

I was once not interested in the Olympics, but now I am

Athens — For the past few days the Olympic trials have started to warm up my appetite for the games.

Four years ago, I didn't have any particular interest in the competition, until it started. Then I got riveted to the TV watching Michael Phelps swim to win-after-win.

I was caught up in the gymnastics drama where Nastia Liukin and Shawn Johnson became the first Americas to finish 1-2 in the women's all-round.

Soon I was watching wrestling, boxing, cycling, track and even field. No matter how I try to ignore them, the Olympics seem to have a special appeal.

When I was a kid, it didn't matter who was competing on our side, just so we beat the Soviet Union.  The USSR made the perfect foe with their regimented brilliance. They were machines – robots who came to conquer our athletes, just like they meant to bury our nation. Or at least, that's what we thought.

Then in 1972, the Soviet gymnastic team included a little dynamo name, Olga Korbut. She didn't win the all-around, but put on a show in the floor exercise and on the balance beam that won the hearts of a whole bunch of Americans.

In those days, the U.S. women were lucky to snatch an occasional bronze medal in gymnastics. Olga's performance had a lot to do with the increased interest in the sport over here, and ultimately with the powerful team we have headed for London today.

Olga's impact was only a foreshadowing of what would happen in Montreal four years later. Romanian Nadia Comeniche rocked the world, by not only winning the women's all-round with a perfect score.

A short time later, Nadia's coach Bela Karolyi, moved to the good old U.S., and trained our first women's all-round champ, Mary Lou Retton, in 1984.

One thing I loved about those Olympic games in the late 1960s and early 1970s was the coverage they got on ABC Sports. Jim McKay was the man in the booth, anchoring the telecasts. In 1972, he became the face of the coverage of the most memorable Olympic story in my lifetime.

Up until that point, the Olympic Games had been a time when the differences between cultures, governments and political systems was set aside, while dedicated young men and women battled it out on wrestling mats, balance beams and basketball courts.

Sure, there would be an occasional dispute over a gymnastics score, or how many seconds should be on the game clock, but by-and-large, the games were what they were meant to be.

Then, one day in Munich, that all changed. The meet that year had been dubbed "The happy games," by the West German officials.

For more than a week, it appeared the Munich games would live up to that name. Then, on Sept. 5, members of a Palestinian terrorist group broke into the Olympic Village, and kidnapped nine Israeli athletes, coaches and officials. The world watched for hours, hoping for the best. Those hopes were shattered when a somber McKay revealed their fate.

"They're all gone." he said.

They had accepted the challenge of coming to Munich to represent their small nation on the world stage. Now they were all dead. In that devastating moment, the outside world got inside the Olympic Village, and reminded us what a fragile ideal the games really are.

That was 40 years ago.  Thankfully, in spite of of the tragedy, the games carry on, bringing us up-close and personal glimpses of young men and women experiencing the "thrill of victory," and the "agony of defeat."

Here's hoping that those who come home without medals will appreciate the time they got to show their talents, and represent their countries on the greatest stage of all.

I can't wait.

Rich Flowers is News Editor of the Athens Daily Review.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest