Athens Review, Athens, Texas

Opinion

June 28, 2012

Hank Williams’ sad music made us grateful for our lives

Athens — Into these last nine beers

I have shed a million tears.

You are on my lonely mind.

I’m gonna keep on sittin here

Until I’m petrified.

And then maybe these tears

Will leave my eyes.

There's a tear in my beer

Cause I’m crying for you, dear

You are on my lonely mind

 — Hank Williams Sr.

There’s no question, is there, that country music is made for the benefit of the pathetic among us?

And who hasn’t played that role a time or two?

That’s probably why I became a fan in my early 30s. When a man feels pitiful, he sometimes needs to soak in it, until his self-pity causes him to fall on the floor after the tears ruin  his beer.

If he can get up, by then, he’ll usually be laughing at  himself.

It means he’s healed, and can now go home.

 It’s quitting music, the kind that touches the soul of every man and woman who’s ever given up on an unreasonable lover, a bad kid or a hypocritical parent.

A successful evening on the pitty pot just goes better with the sounds of Hank Williams, who you know going in, is on  his way to a fatal car wreck before his 30th birthday.

I sometimes wonder how many car wrecks he’s caused, even after death, for truck drivers hauling loads across the country.

They say misery loves company, but I’m telling you, company loves misery.

You can’t find that kind of support group when you’re listening to “achievement” music.

All they do is take human bodies, and pass them back and forth, while you jump up and down, and hold your hands like you’re signaling for a touchdown.

What kind of misery is that?

It’s strictly cardio-vascular, deodorant-destroying music.

Now I’m hearing that so-called country music singer, Kenny Chesney, recently greeted his country music audience in Boston by flying high above his fans all the way to the other end of his fans, and then back again.

Kenny Chesney, he of health club muscles and mediocre,  but loud  music, ought to listen up.

I never thought I’d be saying this, but country ain’t country, anymore.

Can you see Don Williams flying across the stage, while singing, “Some Hearts Never Mend?”

Kenny’s music is rock — which is fine. I like most rock music. But don’t label it country.  You can’t do pure pitiful, if you’re keeping time to Chesney music. It’s like cheating.

Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-12 Rich mug.jpg Meal time for kitties can be an adventure

    I believe God gave us housecats because we didn’t have enough to worry about. They are puzzling little puffs of fur that seem to be constantly developing new sets of peculiarities.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I've got my rib back!

    Much has changed since Jan. 19, 2008.
    Bruce Almighty, Man on the Moon, Major League – gone.
    Complete rooms decorated with sports memorabilia – gone.
    More than a dozen trips to catch baseball in Arlington – gone.

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Exhausted, but happier than ever

    Wow, what a rush!
    I can not begin to explain the emotions I experienced on Monday, March 17 as Maylee Grace Wilson made her debut.
    Yes, there were tears.
    Yes, this “Iron Man” showed the emotion he hoped and prayed for.
    Over the two weeks I was home with Maylee and my wife Lacie, I experienced a plethora of emotions - emotions rather rare in my life.
    As expected, there was little sleep at the hospital. With the way Maylee acted her first night, I thought I might be able to catch a little shut-eye once we got home.

    April 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • Joe new mug.jpg Music helps deal with life’s situations, good or bad

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow once said, “Music is the universal language of mankind.”
    With music, it can help us deal with tragic situations, help us deal with the loss of a loved one, make us want to dance, make us want to sing along to the words, or help us calm down after a long day of work.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • kathi New  copy.jpeg ‘Small town, USA’ has advantages, disadvantages

    Living in a small town can have its advantages and disadvantages. For me, personally, I love “Small Town USA.”
    Some disadvantages possibly are: if you do something out of character, everyone will know by tomorrow morning; everybody tends to be related, so watch what you say;  limited resources;  it's not easy to broaden your horizons; and driving more than 50  miles to the nearest mall.

     

     

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jeff's mug.jpg A habit in a society and in a home that should stop

    It was Tuesday that I was walking back to my car on the Walmart parking lot, when a business acquaintance of mine who comes to the Review office sometimes, stopped her car in front of me to say hello.
    I noticed her doing something that happens at almost any moment she is around, without the office surroundings.  She had a cigarette in her hand.

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • RICH-USE THIS ONE.jpg TVCC Lady Cards add to school’s winning legacy

    When I came to work in Henderson County in 1991, the Trinity Valley Community College Cheerleaders had already picked up a couple of national titles. Coach Connie Russell had the team doing things few had ever seen cheerleading squads do. Russell retired after winning five times on the national stage.

    March 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG Let’s all follow Tom’s lead

    My first-born child is here and there is a hero for her to admire already.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMNIST.jpg Giving businesses choice is not legalizing discrimation

    The bar owner was blunt. A couple of weeks ago, he announced that people of a certain persuasion would not be allowed into his establishment.
    To demonstrate his seriousness, he had head shots printed of those who are not welcome to make sure that his security team would deny them entry.

    March 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • Wilson mug.JPG I am Iron Man, the suit and I are one

    The suit is damaged, it might not hold up this time.
    Like many men, I have hidden my emotions behind a suit of armor for years.
    Happy, sad, excited or mad – my external emotions were never displayed.
    In some ways that was a good thing, but in others...

    March 8, 2014 1 Photo

Biz Marquee
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest